MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording

Old 2008-10-13, 07:35
pathos45
New Blood

Modding Tube Amps

Im looking into modding my 6505+ head. I cant find any sites anywhere does anyone know how to go about doing general mods.

Old 2008-10-13, 16:59
Soulinsane
Pirate Lawd

I do it for a living and I can tell you it can be very dangerous. Tube amps are nothing to fuck with. They can KILL you. I have never been inside a 6505 but I assume it would be similar to the 5150. There are many different web sites dedicated to modding tube amps ( some I don't agree with ). It all depends on what you are looking to change.

To start, I always want to know what cables, FXs, guitar wiring ( pick ups ), speakers, and tubes are used. Upgrading those things first normally enhance tone far greater that people think without opening the amp. Unless other features are to be added, begin there.

Next, I do a simple clean and inspection inside the amp. Dust can build up and cause parts to heat up or semi short. I note the solder connections and try to date the capacitors. It helps to know the difference between quality and economy parts as well. Changing values can be tricky but have a profound effect.

Another awesome mod, but expensive, is to upgrade the transformers. In the case of a 5150 I like to add a choke as well. Transformers are the heart and soul of any tube amp. Nothing you do will ever affect the performance of your amp like top quality transformers. Mercury magnetic transformers are by far the best you can get. I became a dealer/tech for them this year I like them so much. Awesome quality but you get what you pay for.