MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording

Old 2008-09-10, 02:11
the lamb
Senior Metalhead

Keyboards Expansion & How to go about it?

Okay i have to say,I am totally lost in all the terminology regarding keyboards (i am a guitarist, basically). I have a friend's old keyboard with midi capabilities (just a basic Yamaha PSR 330 ). It has a good feel and quite some options and all, yeah. But the patches are really limited on it. So we were discussing options. Well, what i know is that being a midi instrument, you can expand the patches on it. I tried to do some research on the net, but got lost (due to terms like controllers, sequencers, sound modules, soft synths etc).

I would like to use this keyboard on stage and in my mini studio setup.
I want to get a better sound and patches (Don't really mind using a laptop or something on stage).
I want to add a pitch bender.
I want a recording option with the keyboard.

Is all this possible, without the need of buying a new keyboard, and if so please point me in the right direction.

Please reply with information rather than website addresses (so that if i have a further question i can direct it here itself)

Last edited by the lamb : 2008-09-10 at 02:20.

Old 2008-09-10, 07:32
Soeru
Post-whore

Before I start make sure you understand that MIDI = data, little pulses of info like on a video-game controller, NOT sound.

Does his keyboard have midi out and in connections? If so you can use that same keyboard, all you need is a soundcard with midi ins/outs, or if you already have one without midi and just want midi capability, get a "USB midi interface". You won't be using the yamaha's patches anymore, you'll just be using it as a controller that triggers notes in software synths.