- your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording

Old 2008-07-19, 13:30
FearFrost's Avatar
The Mountie From Hell
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Halifax N.S. Canada
Posts: 3,017
Bias Question.

So yesterday my tubes came in the mail!

I tossed the preamp's in ASAP and she sounds awesome already! All that Is left is my power tubes.

with a little online research i know that the plate voltage is 480, and 25 is my dissipation, and eurotubes quotes it for "36 to 42mA" after the calculation of 70%. With that, on the back of my XXX i have the red and black bias test (JUST THE ONE!) for 4 power tubes. So when I get my multimeter in 15 mins, (hehehe) will it read for all 4 power tubes at once (IE 36 (for my mA) x4 (the number of tubes) = 144 mA? and thats what i will have to bias too? or am i wrong?


PS my new power tubes are 6l6G6's
Originally Posted by Timedragon
i clicked on time... cause im timedragon
Old 2008-08-01, 05:15
ThongPick's Avatar
New Blood
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada-Quebec
Posts: 44
Setting your tube between 36 to 42mA will set all tubes to the same mA and i got XXX too and i think you cant set to 144 mA anyway. The reading on you multimeter is what you got for all 4 tubes. Setting to 38mA with your multimeter, you will got power tube 1 to 38mA, power tube 2 to 38mA, power tube 3 to 38mA, power tube 4 to 38mA.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2014 All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.