MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Guitar Zone

Old 2008-01-24, 01:52
7-string warlord
Post-whore

pick stuff

I've been playing for 4 years. I've always held my pick a little differently, but I never thought much of it. and now I'm really starting to get into sweeps and they are taking me a LONG time to get down. I'm wondering if my pick holding method has anything to do with it.

Here are some pics of how I hold the plectrum. I know my fingers look creepy in some of the pictures...I took them with my free hand,which was shaky due to cold weather.

http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/...ectrumdelII.jpg

http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/...ar/plectrum.jpg

http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/...ctrumDelIII.jpg

Look at my incredibly pale skin in that third one!

Last edited by 7-string warlord : 2008-01-24 at 02:00.

Old 2008-01-24, 10:08
death walking terror
New Blood

I think you should keep doing your own thing. A lot of players do, look at Sam Totman (Dragonforce), or James Hetfield. Im not much of a sweeper, so I dont know if it will have a effect on it. I hold my pick in a "standard" way, but when I started out I held my pick almost like you do now. I changed it to do harmonics easier, and it took a long time getting used to it. I don't think it matters to much, I've seen the most amazing players hold their picks the strangest ways.

Old 2008-01-24, 15:54
Sycophant
Supreme Metalhead

It looks like you're holding the pick with three fingers... thumb, middle, and index (right?)

Old 2008-01-24, 17:26
antipunx
Senior Metalhead

that could get in the way from what i can tell. mabey just try and train yourself to hold it another way.

Old 2008-01-24, 20:58
7-string warlord
Post-whore

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sycophant
It looks like you're holding the pick with three fingers... thumb, middle, and index (right?)