MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Guitar Zone

Old 2007-11-09, 09:31
death walking terror
New Blood

wrist angle

I don't think there is another thread on this.
I have been playing for 5 years. I have been sitting and playing mostly, except for a few gigs playing easy material.

I want to start playing standing up, but I can't seem to relax my right hand, especially when I'm tremolopicking. I can relax if I'm sitting down.

Is it normal to have your wrist angled?
What height is best to set your strap at?
Any tips?

Old 2007-11-09, 19:25
satan's shedder
Metalhead

For wrist angle use what evers comfortable. Just practice playing song you can play really well sitting down and just practice them standing up. As far as strap It all up to you I personally play my guitar right up to me cuz I find it the easiest to play technical stuff but I have friends that play their guitar down by there knees and they play flawlessly so all you man

Old 2007-11-10, 00:49
JoeYngVai
Vaginal Warts

Quote:
Originally Posted by death walking terror
I don't think there is another thread on this.
I have been playing for 5 years. I have been sitting and playing mostly, except for a few gigs playing easy material.

I want to start playing standing up, but I can't seem to relax my right hand, especially when I'm tremolopicking. I can relax if I'm sitting down.

Is it normal to have your wrist angled?
What height is best to set your strap at?
Any tips?

I'm going to respond to this just because I went through a two year phase of trying to pick correctly.

1. Yeah, stay relaxed.
2. Your fingers should not curl up, let them dangle. You don't need to plant them like rocks, but let them rest for better support.
3. Pick with your wrist, please. Look in the mirror to make sure you're not using much thumb.