MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Guitar Zone

Old 2007-10-14, 00:17
WinterCall
New Blood

Suggestions for learning through music

Hi, I've been playing guitar for a couple of months now and have been playing mostly Metallica and some of Troys books, but I'd like to know some songs which would I would probably be able to play if I work at it. Although everyone tells me to play what I like, I often find it hard either because it requires very fast picking or is something that I don't learn anything from.

Therefore I'd appreciate it if anyone can recommend a few songs that aren't overly difficult or fast and improve my guitar playing.

Thanks.

Old 2007-10-14, 01:11
7-string warlord
Post-whore

This will probably get flamed as a crappy song or something, but I basicly learned the fundamentals from the Children of Bodom song "Sixpounder" just don't learn the solos, but it has a lot of everything.

Old 2007-10-14, 08:12
Soeru
Post-whore

Learn some Megadeth, like stuff from peace sells, killing is my business, or rust in peace. It's a challenge for novices and sometimes intermediates, you'll really advance quite a bit learning those songs. Try starting off with Tornado of Souls?

(Did you know In Flames had a 2005 album called "Come Clarity"? How prophetic. I think they're trying to tell us all their sperm are dead.)

Old 2007-10-14, 11:13
Amadeus
Quantum.

Consider Soueros sig above - say what you like about Green Day, but they have the basics, pick up an album like American Idiot and learn it.
Nightwish is also a good band for progessing, start out with something like Beauty and the Beast on Angels Fall First, where the lazy fuck is basically strumming power chords in different rythm patterns all the way. Once you can play along to Wishmaster and Pharaoh sails to Orion, you know you're getting somewhere.