MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Music Theory

Old 2006-11-21, 02:33
rhoads81
New Blood

melodic minor in metal

I just started learning the melodic minor scale recently and im having a hard time using it while soloing. So can anybody give me some pointers on this scale and/or name some bands and songs that use this scale that i can listen to so i can get a feel for this scale and see how it is applied in the context of a song.

Old 2006-11-21, 04:07
Transient
HES BAAACK

are you kidding? just about anything in the melodic death metal scene uses it extensively

Old 2006-11-21, 04:13
tmfreak
Slayer of dumb cunts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Transient
are you kidding? just about anything in the melodic death metal scene uses it extensively

Not really.. I hardly ever use it, and i don't see it used that much, or can even name one example of it being used.

Harmonic minor.. eh maybe. but even that depends, and i haven't really heard it THAT much. Melodic minor.. i doubt it just because it has a very major sound to it.
...Its very annoying to keep having to hear some socially-disabled teen come on these boards talking about all the drugs he's started doing so that he can maybe grasp onto some kind of positive response so he feels better about himself and what he's doing.
About requiem. Aint it the truth...

Old 2006-11-21, 04:17
Transient
HES BAAACK

whoops, i meant harmonic

this is why i stay out of theory

Old 2006-11-21, 04:38
tmfreak
Slayer of dumb cunts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Transient
whoops, i meant harmonic

this is why i stay out of theory

haha Well isee why crowned sucks so much..... No theory knowledge.. PFFFFF

I solid use of harmonic without it seeming to be too over used is Absence. Nearly every song htey have is in C minor.