MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

View Poll Results: What kind of cymbals do you play?
All machine made 8 53.33%
All hand made 1 6.67%
Mostly machine made 3 20.00%
Mostly hand made 1 6.67%
50/50 2 13.33%
Voters: 15. You may not vote on this poll

Old 2006-09-30, 04:00
BrokenCrimson
Post-whore

The great cymbal debate

I have a thing for cymbals that are made mostly by hand. I know it's shallow of me somewhat to reject the more consistent and popular cymbals that are made using machines mostly, but for some reason I just don't look in the direction of Zildjian, Sabian, Paiste etc anymore when I go cymbal shopping. I found handcrafted cymbals to be cheaper, more surprising, and interesting.I've saved a lot of money buying them on sales and with deep discounts from small drum stores. On the other hand, I can't buy them online cheaper because of their inconsistency. I've also found that some sales people look down on them.

Me: I would like to look at that Stagg VB 16 inch crash please.
*sales person puts it on a stand, gives it a bash*
Salesperson: Hey this sounds good for a Stagg!
Me: Yeah that's a really smart thing to say in front of a customer.
Sales person: Well I just find Stagg to be very oriental mumble mumble blargh...

The people in the same store also spoke shit about Bosphorus (they don't sell Bosphorus cymbals) while speaking highly of Wuhan. Anyway, vote bitches.

Old 2006-09-30, 04:16
CompelledToLacerate
FFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

I don't know the difference. How can you tell which was made by machine and what was made by hand?

With cymbal sound, I'm still kind of ignorant to what makes it sound good. I'm just looking for what sounds good without asking why.

Keep checking for new crap.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amadeus