- your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording

Old 2006-09-03, 13:38
Senior Metalhead
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 135
4 cable method...

I operate my GT-6 using 4 cable method, which bypasses the amplifier's preamp *I believe*. So my question is; would I get the same sound through any head I play through as long as I use the same cabs? Or would different amps (tube, solid state, etc.) still affect my sound?
Old 2006-09-03, 13:47
k13m's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vlissingen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2,680
they most likely will change your sound a bit, u assume u put the gt-6 in the fx loop?? not sure if thats what you mean by 4 cable method, but anyway if you have it in the fx loop, you bypass the preamp, but not the poweramp

so if you put it on a tube head, you will have that tube sound youd get from the powertubes.

< no wonder hes mad!!
Old 2006-09-03, 13:55
Senior Metalhead
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 135
I am not sure what actually happens when you do 4 cable method, but until I did that, I couldn't find any sounds that I liked. But yes, it is in the fx loop.
Old 2006-09-04, 07:16
Soulinsane's Avatar
Pirate Lawd
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hanger 18
Posts: 6,520
The 4 cable method is normally used with GT-8 units due to the fact you can assign different FXs into amp head input or loop.

Have you checked for info here.
Authorized Mercury Magnetics tech/dealer

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2014 All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.