MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

Old 2006-08-28, 02:27
Chrispaks
New Blood

Speeding up Double Bass

I sort of recently got a double kick pedal for one bass drum.

Its real nice, I didnt know how easy it is once you know timing :P.
I remember when I didnt know timing at all, I was a mess. Through time, and mastering of timing, I learned how to keep nice double bass beat at about 150 bpm.

Now, one day, through experimentation, I tried to replicate Leather Rebel. Somehow it worked. Sure, I wasnt constant perflectly or didnt have perfect timing, but it felt good. I even tried some Arch Enemy songs like "Taking Back My Soul", which I was close, but since I'm not that experienced with double kick pedals yet I decided to work from bottom to top.

Now, how would I go about raising my speed? I would love control and be able to blaze my double bass, but to get to going 180 bpm or faster, it takes me about 15-20 minutes to warm up alone just to do it (if I haven't been playing already).

Is the best way, to whip out the old metronome, and practice a constant beat at lets say 150 bpm, then move up slowly to 155 bpm and practice until im fluent with that, then 160, 165... 180? (For example, and further if I want)? Or is there a better way?

Old 2006-08-28, 04:13
CompelledToLacerate
FFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

Well, I too am not too good with double bass, which is why I only use it on fills and stuff, but I too would like to apply it to more of my playing. And I was told to get a metronome and start at a speed I am entiely comfortabe with that I can play at a steady tempo at without losing control, and just play that until I'm tired out.