MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Music Theory

Old 2006-07-20, 02:16
aFarewelltoKings
Senior Metalhead

solo over chords help

okay guys im a bassist and our band needs help with a lead line to play over these chords

A---2----5----7----3
E---0----3----5----1

Explain to how to do it or please come up with a line for us!!! Please no smartass answers

Old 2006-07-20, 02:35
jazzmetalguitar
Senior Metalhead

just figure out what key it is in. depending on the length of each note. alternate using the respective pentatonics and arpeggios. its a simple line so i wouldn't expect it to have a real progressive lead at all.

Old 2006-07-20, 06:34
amerok
Senior Metalhead

C, or even F major will be fine for that. If your guitarist knowns the minor pentatonic shape tell him to do that on the 5th fret. if he chose F major try playing the E chord with a flat 5. (0 on E string and 1 on A string)

if youre not into theory you can always go note by note up the guitar and see which ones you like over those chords

Old 2006-07-20, 14:23
davie_gravy
Metal As Fuck!

E Phrygian (and E Harmonic Minor variation) would sound good over it.

BuildTheMusic.com is your #1 FREE online guitar resource center.

Old 2006-07-20, 18:18
Unanything
Post-whore

Yeah, just use a key with those notes (the root notes anyway).
E Phrygian would work well. E Locrian too. OR, if you want to get exotic, Locrian #6 (harmonic minor, mode 2), or Locrian dim7 (b7).
If it's a jazz sound, try something like Dorian b2 (melodic minor, mode 2). Super Locrian also works, but there would probably have the guitar(s) doing third chords instead of powerchords.

Only Ash Remains by Necrophagist should give you some or ideas.

www.garageband.com/tranxnart
www.myspace.com/tranxnart
www.youtube.com/user/Tranxhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatdanny