MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Music Theory

Old 2006-04-08, 04:19
Crash219
New Blood

Scale help

I just started playing guitar about 11 months ago and I am starting to learn my scales, but I am confused. How are scales used in solos? What are scales for? Please help.

Old 2006-04-08, 23:23
davie_gravy
Metal As Fuck!

Whoa...

Your not gonna get a whole lot of feedback on this becuase it is a very deep topic. In a nutshell the chords in a progression are actually contained in certain scales like... playing a progression C - Dm - Em - F, that would be in C Major, so if you solo in C Major/A Minor it would harmonize. Browse through this forum, there's several threads that will show you how to match progression to scales, what degress are major/minor/etc, how to use extended chords and such. Also just goto some good music theory sites, they prob have more organized information about scales and soloing. Good Luck!

BuildTheMusic.com is your #1 FREE online guitar resource center.

Old 2006-04-13, 18:07
Unanything
Post-whore

Scales are used to attain certain melodies, or at least that's the way I use them. Same reason I use chords. Scales and chords are indifferent really. Scales just have lots more notes generally.

I like finding as many as I can and learning them. I was kind of misled when I got into guitar, I thought there were really high technical and theory standards and I picked up the Phrygian Dominant scale within a couple of months of getting my first guitar out of a magasine which had a tab for a Slayer solo and said it was in D Phryg' Dom'. Next I learnt Natural Minor and then Harmonic Minor.
Then it was Davie Gravy's signature that showed me how Phryg' Dom' was within Harm' Min' and thus I learnt modes.

I found a bit of paper the other day which I wrote the formula for the Nonatonic scale ages ago. Nine tones!

Code: