MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Bass Zone

Old 2006-03-26, 00:22
JesterRaceWannabe
New Blood

Question New to Bass

Hello to the Bass forum. I've recently decided that I would like to play Bass, after seeing a great local band. I have been playing guitar for around 7 years and I've never really payed too much attention to Bass on albums or live but watching this bass player really inspired me. The guy recommended I listen to Atheist and I've been hooked on the sound and style of the bass since.
I plan on buying a cheap bass to start with just in case I decide it's not for me.

I don't want to sound like a guitar player playing a Bass. I have good rythm, but I don't know how to count beats or any rythmic musical terms. Is this something I should work on immediatly? I play with an amazing drummer so that should help some things.

Anyways, the whole point of this post.....where do I start?

Old 2006-03-26, 01:06
basstendencies
Senior Metalhead

welcome comrade...

the most important thing when it comes to playing bass is keeping good time.
your job is to bridge the rhythm section to rest of the band, so try and split your time between playing along with the drums and guitars.as far as theory, learning the proper terms for things can be very helpful (i'd say learn as much of it as you can), but is not absolutely necessary. good luck!
p.s. step one to becoming a great bassist; toss your picks, you wont need them where youre going.

Old 2006-03-26, 20:39
JesterRace
New Blood

well if you can play guitar, than shifting to bass is not the most difficult thing. You just gotta learn how to use your fingers.

btw is there any reason why your name is almost exactly like mine?

Old 2006-03-26, 20:47
walpurgis
Drunken Yeti God
Alumni Staff

Well considering he joined a year before you, if anything you'd have to be mimicking him...