MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Vocal Zone

Old 2006-01-16, 02:40
ivanlagru
New Blood

clean singing tips

Hi guys...well i've been lurking around reading some threads and i decided to address some important matters for all the guys that want help singing.
i'll give some general tips:

-get a teacher (depending on what you want to sing, but if you study with an opera singer you'll get the technique and knowledge needed to figure out other techniques and styles, of course you must not listen to your teacher when he/she attempts to forbid you from rock singing)

-figure out your vocal range: easy, the basic vocal range you should have consists on two octaves. but if you're a total noob you should not be concerned about the range you've got. you must focus on the sound quality at first.
figure out what is your lowest note. then from there count two octaves up, that's your goal. i'll give the notes relating to a guitar...sorry i'm not really acquainted with the A1, F3 and so on system.

tenor: 5th string's 3rd fret C (it varies a tone up or down more a less)
baritone:6th string 1st fret's F
Bass: lower than the 6th string -a B or so-

if you are a tenor you should be aiming towards a sound like(always with your distinctive tone):
-Damian Wilson from Threshold and Ayreon, Michael Kiske from Helloween and place vendome, Bruce Dickinson, Geoff Tate, Russell Allen-

if you're a baritone in metal it's more complicated, you have to use different techniques -clean singing, a more powerful non resonant voice (not head voice but high and not to loud, you're using a mic it doesn't matter much as long a it sounds good-.
Expand your range, you can sing high almost like a tenor-or higher with some gadgets(check Barlow)- or low (not AS low but decently low as to attract some chicks).