MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Bass Zone

Old 2005-05-30, 18:52
Party Time 2000
Senior Metalhead

Guitar Player playing bass

I've been playing guitar for a couple of years now. I've got some buddies who are better guitar players than me so I decided to give bass a shot when I play with them. (classic rock band).

Anyways, I practiced some bass and it's a pretty easy transition.

One question:

I tried palm muting when playing and it doesn't seem to 'work'.

Does anybody palm mute bass?

but we don't use the
fish to feed the pussy.

http://www.myspace.com/lordpartytime2000

Old 2005-05-30, 19:01
Tattered
Symbiotic In Theory
Forum Leader

Welcome to the bass side of things!

And palm muting on bass, it can be done, with a pick and without a pick, with a pick its logical what you do, pretty much the same as guitar, but without a pick you cup your hand around the strings (or whatever you do that feels comfortable to mute the strings..), or rest your hand in a fist on the strings and pluck the strings with your thumb.. that way ..you get a palm muting sound..

Hope that helped.. its pretty weird to explain it..

Quote:
Originally Posted by metal=life
Hey don't talk back buddy. Give your dick size or don't post.

Old 2005-05-31, 16:19
Party Time 2000
Senior Metalhead

So, it's common to play palm muted then, right?

Say, if a guitar is chugging along some p.m. chords, the bassline would also be palm muted, correct?

I don't have a bass amp yet so i'm plugging into my solidstate for now (at low volume). I just don't hear anything (not even a good thud) when I p.m.

but we don't use the
fish to feed the pussy.

Old 2005-05-31, 18:10
shimbolla
Senior Metalhead