MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Bass Zone

Old 2005-05-09, 21:17
goat_whore666
New Blood

Question 4 string vs. 5 string

ok, i'm a newbie... i played guitar for years when i was a teen (i'm 25 now) and it never "did" it for me, so i've decided to try and learn bass, since that's what i always wanted to play. i hope to play fast, heavy, death metal, but i'm wondering if i should get a 4 or 5 string bass. what are the advantages/disadvantages? i long for that gut wrenching low end punch we all love when a death metal band does a bad ass breakdown. opinions please....

Old 2005-05-09, 21:41
Tulvox
Post-whore

I play a 5 string, and if you've played a 4 string before, you have to readjust to the string spacing. I didnt buy a 5 to go lower, I bought it for more notes, but thats me. From personal experience, I would say it would be better to start on a 4. That way, you can get comfortable with a bass. From there it is up to you which you decide to play. There are guys like Tattered who are perfectly happy with a 4 string, and there are guys like Subsonic6string who experiment with more strings.

The only real advantage of a 5 string would be more notes.

Whatever you choose, good luck and have fun. And welcome to the world of bass playing.

www.maddox.xmission.com

Old 2005-05-09, 22:08
goat_whore666
New Blood

thanks dude. i'm definitely not the type of player to shread a million different notes all over the neck. maybe 4 string would be better. i was just curious because if i found a 5 string at a reasonable price if it'd be worth it to pick up. i know the obvious answer to that, but in terms of if it'd deter me from learning.

Old 2005-05-10, 11:34
Tattered
Symbiotic In Theory
Forum Leader

Hey, welcome to metaltabs!