MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Vocal Zone

Old 2004-12-11, 21:19
panzer-god
New Blood

Help on power-metal vocals

Can anyone help me about this: I have been growling for a couple of years now, and would like to start a power-metal side project with a friend of mine. So i am about to attempt a sort of high pitching vocals characteristic for power metal and all that stuff, i am looking for an Annihilator inspired vocal style, combined with the old school pantara vocals. So i was wondering if you are capable of maintaining a good low gutteral growl, and in the weekends do these high pitching vocals in another band, without them affecting each other, or should i stop growling to get better results with my clean vocals (that just sounded gay)? And i was wondering if anyone had some useful voice practices or tips i could use to learn faster? I know it's a very demanding genre to do vocals on, so any help would be nice

Dimebag Darrel lives forever!

Old 2004-12-15, 20:44
suffocation
Metalhead

i playing guitar/vocals in a death metal band so i'm mainly used to those vocals,but whenever i'm listening to stuff like early pantera,maiden, and priest i usually sing along with it.i don't know any method to sing like that but i try.

Old 2005-01-10, 04:16
MorbidGuitar
Post-whore

just pretend your trying to be a girl

Old 2005-01-12, 17:37
ExhumedCarcass
Senior Metalhead

I do deep growls, high screams, and powermetal vocals all in one song, so you shouldn't have to stop the deep growls to get a good powermetal voice. But other people do say that to do the power metal vocals you should stop the growling and stuff. It doesn't effect me so maybe it won't effect you.

Old 2005-01-16, 16:06
Wes
New Blood

Better vocal - Cannibal Corpse!!!

Old 2005-01-16, 22:28
Transient
HES BAAACK

all this thread is is people talking about how they do vocals too

help or dont post