MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Vocal Zone

Old 2005-03-17, 14:32
vartex
New Blood

screaming/growling w/o damaging voice?

i read a lot of people on here saying that growling or screaming improperly can damage you voice. now, how in the fuck would you do that type of vocal work safely?

Old 2005-03-17, 14:50
shimbolla
Senior Metalhead

My guess is -- Either you can, or you can't. I figure that the singers who do it have simply toughened up their voices (not to mention respected it and took care of it) over the years to where it doesn't hurt em at all. But if it's not safe to do with a certain voice, then you'll probably notice quite quickly. I'm no expert, but my advice is don't strain it or anything silly like that and it shouldn't ever be damaged. If your voice can take it, then it'll take it. Period. I think, though, that the more "screaming" side of singing is more apt to damage you than the "growling". I definitely find that the growling-like sound is easier on my voice (don't know why). So just go with whatever your voice tells you. Because if screaming/gowling is going to damage a particular person's voice, then they're kind of screwed (how the fuck can you make it easy on yourself to scream?). Soooooo, I say don't worry about it. I'm sure not many of those bands do. It can take it (your voice, that is).

Old 2005-03-18, 00:24
darkexodite
New Blood

Exactly. Keep in mind that you should look into actual lessons on actual singing, if you haven't already. It helped me tremendously, and I growl for the most part, but I actualy do anything from clean singing to slayer-ish yells, to growling. So, some techniques, stuff you learn from proffessionals or just teachers, will help a lot.