MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Bass Zone
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 2002-12-14, 15:17
Tattered's Avatar
Tattered Tattered is offline
Symbiotic In Theory
Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,305
Recording Your Bass On To Computer

I have many freinds that can do this, but there guitarists, im concerned how do you do it, where do you plug the bass into, do you need a splitter or some special lead, and how about the speakers recording bass onto the computer wont blow them will it?

And meaning that i can play music from mp3 on my computer means that i do have a soundcard..


Please can someone answer these questions for me?

Cheers
__________________
'' I'll Smother You With A Fucking Pillow!! ''

Quote:
Originally Posted by metal=life
Hey don't talk back buddy. Give your dick size or don't post.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2003-02-20, 10:44
Rattlehead Rattlehead is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 274
If only I knew dude ....
I'd image you probably need some connection to convert a patch chord to a little computer oulet thing. But I've had no succes as much as I've tried. I'm almost certain you would need some kind of program on your computer to record it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2003-02-20, 12:57
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
I just used a converted between the jackplug, from a big jack to a small one.

works for me, plug it in the mic input and it will probably work, raise the volume on the mixer to see if its working. ehm, I can also do this with the XLR output of my amp, and that sounds way better (it's a DI out)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2003-02-20, 20:55
PantericA's Avatar
PantericA PantericA is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,107
ok. what you want is a 1/4 inch to 1/8 inch converter jack. just slip it on the end of your patch cord and then you will be able to plug into your computer. the way i do it is just straight into the microphone jack. you should get sound right away, i mean you shouldn't have to open up any programs, as long as you have speakers hooked up you should get sound. but i'm not too sure how well it will record. you might have to upgrade your sound card to get good quality sound. hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2003-02-21, 14:29
Rattlehead Rattlehead is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 274
Hmmm. I do actually have that kind of converter. But how exactly do I get my computer to record what I play?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2003-02-21, 14:38
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
okay, go to your 'start' and press programs, look under accessoires --> entertainment

start the windows volume control and sound recorder


ok, turn up the mic's volume and record the stuff you wanna record with the sound recorder and don't forget to save it as wav, you can convert it to mp3 later with an mp3 converter like cdex
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2003-02-21, 14:50
Rattlehead Rattlehead is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 274
Man that was fast. It took you about 5 mins to reply. Thanks fo rthe info. I will try it as soon as I get home.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2003-02-22, 10:42
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
fastest gun in the west



no problem, happy recording!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2003-05-01, 15:19
pure_0xygen's Avatar
pure_0xygen pure_0xygen is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 36
On Sound Recorder can't yu only record 60 seconds or something around that time?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2003-05-01, 16:18
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
Nah, just hit the record button again and again when it stops.

then you'll have more time, save that empty wav, (like 360 secs) and name it blanksound, then open it and save it under a different name everytime...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:24.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.