MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-06-22, 10:12
livingaftermidnight livingaftermidnight is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
BBE Sonic Stomp doesn't seem to make a difference

I bought a BBE Sonic Stomp pedal, and it sounded great on the amp at the guitar store. When I brought this thing home and plugged into my amp, it doesn't seem to make a difference.

The guy at the guitar store mentioned that I was hooking it up wrong. I had it hooked through the guitar chain and then into the front of my amp. Instead, I plugged it into the effects loop (last in the chain after a Decimator Pro Rack G Noise Suppressor) and it STILL doesn't sound any different.

It's really disappointing because I've heard someone elses BBE Sonic Stomp pedal with my amp and it had a really nice sound.

I don't know why mine doesn't seem to make a difference though. This is the first time I've owned an amp with an effects loop so I'm sure I'm forgetting something that's intuitive to everyone else!

Anybody have any ideas?

Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2008-06-22, 11:50
the_bleeding's Avatar
the_bleeding the_bleeding is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,816
Send a message via MSN to the_bleeding
what amp are you using, and whats the volume level.

sonic maximizers really start working at louder volume levels because the do something to the phase of certain frequencies that change at higher volumes due to speaker inefficiency... or something like that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahmers Fridge
In the US "fanny" is a word used to describe the ass or butt. Here in the UK "fanny" is a lady garden (vagina)
I was very bemused as a youngster watching the Golden Girls when Blanche said she was going to "spank her fanny" I had visions of a geriatric vertical bacon sandwich red and bruised from being disciplined!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2008-06-22, 12:42
livingaftermidnight livingaftermidnight is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
I'm using a Peavey 5150 amp and the volume level is normally at 3. This is the level it's at for band practice.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2008-06-22, 15:32
the_bleeding's Avatar
the_bleeding the_bleeding is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,816
Send a message via MSN to the_bleeding
what are your settings?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahmers Fridge
In the US "fanny" is a word used to describe the ass or butt. Here in the UK "fanny" is a lady garden (vagina)
I was very bemused as a youngster watching the Golden Girls when Blanche said she was going to "spank her fanny" I had visions of a geriatric vertical bacon sandwich red and bruised from being disciplined!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2008-06-22, 18:34
livingaftermidnight livingaftermidnight is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Peavey 5150 Settings

Guitar Input is plugged into Normal Gain input on amp.

Lead Channel
Pre-Gain 3
Low 6
Mid 4
High 7
Post Gain 3
Resonance 7.5
Presence 7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2008-06-22, 19:25
livingaftermidnight livingaftermidnight is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Oh and the BBE Stomp settings are like 7 and 7.5 or so. I've tried all kinds of setting positions on this pedal and I don't hear a difference on any of them.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2008-06-22, 20:40
xdislexicx xdislexicx is offline
TEH PWNZOR!!!1qa
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The West.
Posts: 4,433
Are you meaning the change in sound is subtle? Or is there litterally no difference in the sound? Because if it's really making NO change in tone, your pedal is probably broken. Regardless of whether it's in front of the amp or in the fx loop it should create a difference in tone.
__________________
Friends don't let friends play Krank!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2008-06-22, 20:50
livingaftermidnight livingaftermidnight is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
I literally don't hear any difference.

The other day, the pedal wasn't working right (muted sound while it was on) and so I brought it into the guitar store and they checked it out. It worked just fine for the guy at the guitar store. I heard the difference with it on their amp. He kept turning it off an on so I could really tell the difference the pedal was making on the amp's sound. It was wonderful!

But, I took it home and didn't hear it.

Now, I bought my amp from someone that had this pedal so I got to hear the difference his pedal made. That was why I purchased the pedal in the first place.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2008-06-23, 13:18
Arsis's Avatar
Arsis Arsis is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: us
Posts: 577
Wow absolutely crazy. The only thing i could say is maybe its hooked in a bit wrong.
__________________
ownage
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2008-06-23, 13:44
livingaftermidnight livingaftermidnight is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Yeah for sure! I think I had it hooked up like this:

EFX Loop Send -> Decimator Channel 2 Return and then Decimator Channel 2 Send -> BBE Sonic Stomp Input and then BBE Sonic Stomp Output -> EFX Loop Return
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2008-06-23, 15:00
TruthDevoid's Avatar
TruthDevoid TruthDevoid is offline
Drugged Unholy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philadelphia Area
Posts: 2,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by livingaftermidnight
I literally don't hear any difference.

The other day, the pedal wasn't working right (muted sound while it was on) and so I brought it into the guitar store and they checked it out. It worked just fine for the guy at the guitar store. I heard the difference with it on their amp. He kept turning it off an on so I could really tell the difference the pedal was making on the amp's sound. It was wonderful!

But, I took it home and didn't hear it.

Now, I bought my amp from someone that had this pedal so I got to hear the difference his pedal made. That was why I purchased the pedal in the first place.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!


that's weird. Take your whole rig into the guitar store and show them. let them figure it out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalThrashingMad
I don't know about you, but I deadlift because I strive to be the first human tree stump pulling machine


Quote:
Originally Posted by viewer_from_nihil
the song serial cocksucker changed my life


Quote:
Originally Posted by BassBehemoth
Are you going to snort cheap pharmaceutical drugs with your lizard as well?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2008-06-23, 20:53
livingaftermidnight livingaftermidnight is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Yeah, for sure dude. Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2008-06-27, 00:37
GUITARFETUS GUITARFETUS is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 166
Are you using the footswitch for the amp? maybe if you are, then you forgot to activate the effects loop with the button on the footswitch. if the switch is plugged in, the loop wont work, i have done this before on accident. if you are not using the f/s then i dont know what to tell you. it was just a thought tho.
__________________
...farewell to the flesh...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2008-06-27, 09:24
livingaftermidnight livingaftermidnight is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
You could totally be right. Sad thing is... I have to wait until the next time our band practices to find out (Sunday).

I do use a footswitch, and this is my first big amp with a footswitch. I didn't even know that you had to even hit the footswitch to activate the effects loop.

Another interesting thing, is that I don't hear a difference with the BBE Stomp, but my ISP Decimator Pro Rack G works as is through the effects loop. Would the ISP Decimator not work if my effects loop wasn't activated through the footswitch?

Thanks for the response man!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2008-06-27, 16:49
the_bleeding's Avatar
the_bleeding the_bleeding is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,816
Send a message via MSN to the_bleeding
Quote:
Originally Posted by livingaftermidnight
You could totally be right. Sad thing is... I have to wait until the next time our band practices to find out (Sunday).

I do use a footswitch, and this is my first big amp with a footswitch. I didn't even know that you had to even hit the footswitch to activate the effects loop.

Another interesting thing, is that I don't hear a difference with the BBE Stomp, but my ISP Decimator Pro Rack G works as is through the effects loop. Would the ISP Decimator not work if my effects loop wasn't activated through the footswitch?

Thanks for the response man!


the pro rack g works infront of the amp, AND in the loop, so yes, it would still kill some noise if the loop was off.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahmers Fridge
In the US "fanny" is a word used to describe the ass or butt. Here in the UK "fanny" is a lady garden (vagina)
I was very bemused as a youngster watching the Golden Girls when Blanche said she was going to "spank her fanny" I had visions of a geriatric vertical bacon sandwich red and bruised from being disciplined!!!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2008-06-27, 22:02
livingaftermidnight livingaftermidnight is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Sounds like I just have my effects loop off on the footswitch. Thanks for the help with this one guys. I'll know for sure on Sunday.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2008-06-28, 12:01
GUITARFETUS GUITARFETUS is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 166
yea, thats funny, i have done that before many times. i was like "wtf is wrong with this thing?" ha ha.
__________________
...farewell to the flesh...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2008-06-29, 21:40
livingaftermidnight livingaftermidnight is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
You guys were totally right. I wasn't turning the effects loop on with the footswitch. Once I turned on the effects loop, turning the knobs on the BBE Stomp actually changed the sound... but for some reason the effects loop being on caused the amp volume to lower about 10-15 dB. I think it might be because of the ISP Decimator Pro Rack G, but I'll have to toy around with it to get it all dialed in. That might not be for a few days.

Anybody else, with a ISP Decimator Pro Rack G have that problem before? It could also be something wrong with my 5150 head, I guess. I'll have to try different types of configurations to find out for sure.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:26.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.