MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Music Theory

Old 2008-05-20, 14:19
Musician1978
Senior Metalhead

Can anyone suggest...

...music (any and all genres) using major scales? Most of what I listen to and have listened to all my life is composed of minor scales, therefore I am not very good with using major scales in my music. If I could find some good stuff to jam along to, it would be a huge help to me.

Thanks.

Old 2008-05-20, 15:30
brainsforbreakfast
El Diablo sin pantalones

powermetal? :P

most of what's on popular charts these days is in a major.
most 'modern' punk is major, too. Not that oldschool 70's stuff, but anything from the early nineties usually is.

folk music, that includes folk metal, is usualy major, but uses weird modes.
more major metal..err..older heavy metal bands?

well..uhm..check out flogging molly, finntroll, judas priest and man-o-war.
Originally Posted by Requiem
Why would you sig that?
Why not? Why would you sig me saying that I hate you? I was serious there, too.

I'm in despair! The internet has left me in despair!

Old 2008-05-20, 16:28
The Doctor
Denimwearinghillbilly
Forum Leader

and listen stuff from the doors, blues brothers, led zeppelin, jimi hendrix, stevie ray, etcetcetc. They use minor/major/pentatonic and whatnot combined, so that'll offer you some cool possibilities

Old 2008-05-20, 17:41
Dyldo
Throbbing Member
Forum Leader

I can suggest using the right forum!
deadheadrosesmusic.com
i'm so bonery

Old 2008-05-20, 18:06
brainsforbreakfast
El Diablo sin pantalones

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Doctor
and listen stuff from the doors, blues brothers, led zeppelin, jimi hendrix, stevie ray, etcetcetc. They use minor/major/pentatonic and whatnot combined, so that'll offer you some cool possibilities

all good suggestions, though I'd say The Doors's more well know songs are very minor.

What about Queen? Guns 'n Roses?