MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2008-01-16, 13:35
gorath23's Avatar
gorath23 gorath23 is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 354
Slaving one amp into another?

Ok, I'm thinking of picking up a small practise combo for use at Uni. I'd also like to slave it into my Fireball once in a while. How exactly can I do this? The combo has a line out, but not an FX loop, I think. Do I just run a cable from this to the Fireballs FX Loop Return?
__________________


Engl Fireball
MIJ '84 Greco LP Custom (looking for BKP Nailbomb)
Custom Stratocaster/BKP Sinner
Schecter Hellraiser Avenger
Framus 2x12
ISP Decimator
Line6 Echo Park
Applause AE128 E/A

www.myspace.com/cathisord - Dark Metal Project
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2008-01-16, 14:54
sqol's Avatar
sqol sqol is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,841
Correct, an FX loop should be a line-level loop anyway. You'll have no problems connecting it up like that.
__________________

The Freedom of Chaos
The Secret of The Secret
The Truth of The Truth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undone
moonraven?....more like ass raven
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2008-01-16, 16:15
gorath23's Avatar
gorath23 gorath23 is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 354
Ok, thanks man, I'm guessing its fine to use a regular guitar cable for that, as the line-level is quite low, correct?
__________________


Engl Fireball
MIJ '84 Greco LP Custom (looking for BKP Nailbomb)
Custom Stratocaster/BKP Sinner
Schecter Hellraiser Avenger
Framus 2x12
ISP Decimator
Line6 Echo Park
Applause AE128 E/A

www.myspace.com/cathisord - Dark Metal Project
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2008-01-16, 16:36
the_bleeding's Avatar
the_bleeding the_bleeding is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,816
Send a message via MSN to the_bleeding
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorath23
Ok, thanks man, I'm guessing its fine to use a regular guitar cable for that, as the line-level is quite low, correct?


you got it
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahmers Fridge
In the US "fanny" is a word used to describe the ass or butt. Here in the UK "fanny" is a lady garden (vagina)
I was very bemused as a youngster watching the Golden Girls when Blanche said she was going to "spank her fanny" I had visions of a geriatric vertical bacon sandwich red and bruised from being disciplined!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2008-01-16, 18:21
Soeru's Avatar
Soeru Soeru is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Land of Dust
Posts: 3,551
If what you want to do is hear your small combo through the cab, why not just hook up the speaker out on the combo directly to the cab? You wouldn't be wasting your tubes that way. Unless you actually want to amplify your combo amp to really high volumes, which is sort of a waste, having a good tube amp to do that with and all.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by far_beyond_sane

(Did you know In Flames had a 2005 album called "Come Clarity"? How prophetic. I think they're trying to tell us all their sperm are dead.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2008-01-17, 03:32
gorath23's Avatar
gorath23 gorath23 is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soeru
If what you want to do is hear your small combo through the cab, why not just hook up the speaker out on the combo directly to the cab? You wouldn't be wasting your tubes that way. Unless you actually want to amplify your combo amp to really high volumes, which is sort of a waste, having a good tube amp to do that with and all.


Yeah I know man. I figured that it might come in handy if a preamp tube went bust during a gig and I didn't have time to change it (thinking of getting back into a band) or if like what happened to me in the summer, something blows in the preamp but the power section still works (crappy Engl ) . But yeah, I'll probably just run it through the cab for the most part, or maybe change the internal speaker.
__________________


Engl Fireball
MIJ '84 Greco LP Custom (looking for BKP Nailbomb)
Custom Stratocaster/BKP Sinner
Schecter Hellraiser Avenger
Framus 2x12
ISP Decimator
Line6 Echo Park
Applause AE128 E/A

www.myspace.com/cathisord - Dark Metal Project
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2008-01-17, 04:04
Soeru's Avatar
Soeru Soeru is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Land of Dust
Posts: 3,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorath23
Yeah I know man. I figured that it might come in handy if a preamp tube went bust during a gig and I didn't have time to change it (thinking of getting back into a band) or if like what happened to me in the summer, something blows in the preamp but the power section still works (crappy Engl ) . But yeah, I'll probably just run it through the cab for the most part, or maybe change the internal speaker.

That is nothing to worry about man... preamp tubes will be the LAST thing that end up dying out on your amp. Good pre tubes(get rid of all the stock ones! they didn't last 8 months for me) last for years without needing a change, I'd be more worried about power tubes dying out in a gig situation, not only because it's more likely but because they're much harder to replace quickly.

You could just keep the back part of your fireball loosely unscrewed(you only need like 2/3 screws to hold the flap in place), so you can quickly open it up and pop in a new tube if that ever happened. Just keep a rag handy to yank it out so you don't burn yourself!

Btw a better speaker in the combo won't really give it any noticeable volume change, unless it's lower ohmage, or a bigger size speaker(s) (ie: 12 inch instead of 10). You'd get the most volume out of it running it into bigger cabs with more than one speaker.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by far_beyond_sane

(Did you know In Flames had a 2005 album called "Come Clarity"? How prophetic. I think they're trying to tell us all their sperm are dead.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2008-01-30, 00:48
Soulinsane's Avatar
Soulinsane Soulinsane is offline
Pirate Lawd
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hanger 18
Posts: 6,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorath23
Ok, thanks man, I'm guessing its fine to use a regular guitar cable for that, as the line-level is quite low, correct?


Just a tip. Use a balanced cable for line level stuff and not an unbalanced guitar instrument cable between amps.
__________________
Authorized Mercury Magnetics tech/dealer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2008-01-30, 03:02
sqol's Avatar
sqol sqol is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulinsane
Just a tip. Use a balanced cable for line level stuff and not an unbalanced guitar instrument cable between amps.


Only if both ends of the connection has balanced input/output, otherwise it won't work. Unfortunately most guitar stuff-especially amps- don't have balanced connections, i don't understand why; it's not difficult to implement, and it'd sort out loads of noise issues too.
__________________

The Freedom of Chaos
The Secret of The Secret
The Truth of The Truth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undone
moonraven?....more like ass raven
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:12.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.