MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 2007-06-10, 17:31
4d5e6f's Avatar
4d5e6f 4d5e6f is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 503
Send a message via AIM to 4d5e6f
Pickup Selector Problem

I have a 3 way pickup selector, wired normally, but it has a weird problem. Whenever I put it into the bridge pickup position, it selects both the neck and bridge at the same time (what the middle setting does). The only way to get it to select only the bridge pickup is to pull it a little back so it's halfway between the both setting and the bridge setting. This is really annoying because I can't switch between neck and bridge pickups without having to completely stop and wiggle the switch into an unstable position. Does anybody know what I could do about this problem, or what could be causing it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2007-06-10, 23:14
*insert name here*'s Avatar
*insert name here* *insert name here* is offline
Jono
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,761
Send a message via MSN to *insert name here*
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4d5e6f
I have a 3 way pickup selector, wired normally, but it has a weird problem. Whenever I put it into the bridge pickup position, it selects both the neck and bridge at the same time (what the middle setting does). The only way to get it to select only the bridge pickup is to pull it a little back so it's halfway between the both setting and the bridge setting. This is really annoying because I can't switch between neck and bridge pickups without having to completely stop and wiggle the switch into an unstable position. Does anybody know what I could do about this problem, or what could be causing it?

99% sure it is a wire on the 5 way switch, lightly touching a prong that it shouldnt. Open up the guitar, make sure all of the solder points arent touching others.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2007-06-10, 23:57
4d5e6f's Avatar
4d5e6f 4d5e6f is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 503
Send a message via AIM to 4d5e6f
Quote:
Originally Posted by *insert name here*
99% sure it is a wire on the 5 way switch, lightly touching a prong that it shouldnt. Open up the guitar, make sure all of the solder points arent touching others.

It's a 3 way switch, not a 5 way. By "in between" I meant pulling the switch so that it's between the both and bridge setting. It isn't clicking into any setting, it kind of just floats there.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:36.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.