MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording

Old 2007-05-15, 03:58
Arsis
Supreme Metalhead

Tube amp and preamps questions

Hello, I have a question regarding tube amps. I am a complete amp noob and im working on getting a tube amp (maybe a carvin pretty cheap 100w) and i need to know what kind of maitenance it needs. do you need to let it warm up before playing? how long do i let it set once i turn it on? what does bias mean?is 100watts tube very loud? what are stero cabs? (i think i have a good idea) is ther anyhting particular i need to know?

also, alot of you have racks. what are on those and what do they do?
and also what is a preamp? srry for so many questions but im a totall amp and electronics noob.
thank you.

Old 2007-05-15, 20:57
Jopop
Senior Metalhead

Hey! Don't be sorry to ask, always cool to help out.

The maintenance. Well, one in a while you will need to replace the tubes. The tubes look a little bit like a long clear light bulb, and they wear out somewhat in the same manner as a light bulb.

There are two "types" of tubes, preamp and poweramp. Preamp tubes are smaller and require no warming up. They can last many years, but they gradually start fading away. If you gig / rehearse very often try replacing these every two years. They'll easily work for 15 years but the tone gets worse and worse and you won't really notice it because it happens so gradually. Try replacing them every two years anyway.

Then there's the power tubes. These are bigger and require to be warmed up before you put them in operation. If you don't warm them up you lose a lot of life on them, so they wear out faster. If you look inside a tube you will notice that on the bottom there's a wire much like the one inside a light bulb glowing red. This is the one that heats the tube up.