MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Bass Zone

Old 2007-05-13, 17:58
soliloquy
Senior Metalhead

guitar amp for bass?

umm...prolly a stupid question, but i dont know a whole lto about basses. i'm a guitarist...

anyways, a few friends of mine are trying to get a bass, but they seem to hate the bass amps. all they are finding is shitty stuff with just a bass, treble, eq, and on/off switch. so a really basic amp. but want some distortion and what not...

but apperently they say that using a guitar amp for your bass would fuck up botht he bass, and the amp, and its 'not recommended'

but then again, they say taht its recomended to start off with an acoutic guitar. though strings on an electric guitar are much thinner and easie to play.

so tell me, if you use a guitar amp for a bass, will it fuck up the amp, or the bass, or nothing will happen? i know that band Kyuss uses a bass amp for their guitar though...and they seem fine

Old 2007-05-13, 18:53
SolothurN
Senior Metalhead

question was here once before...
anyway, YES - using guitar amp for bass will fuck up the amp. I have no idea what your friends meant by saying it will fuck up your bass, lol, that's ridiculous, unless they were talking about sound...

other thing is - bass amp isn't GUITAR amp... buying bass amp only because it has distortion onboard is like buying guitar only because it's black. lol, many bass amps are basic amps, it depends on amp power too - bigger amps are equipped with better options, like graphic EQ or compressor.

Old 2007-05-13, 19:27
Demigod
Metalhead

i have done it with mine and it works

Old 2007-05-13, 19:33
SolothurN
Senior Metalhead

yeah? so how big is your amp, how long were you playing like that and with what volume where you playing? ;P

Old 2007-05-13, 21:28
soliloquy
Senior Metalhead