Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Bass Zone

Old 2007-05-11, 16:44
Party Time 2000
Senior Metalhead

Thumb Placement

Most of the time, I play with a pick.

Some songs, I use fingers.

I use a P bass and I sit my thumb as an anchor on the pickup itself. I've seen others anchor near the bridge. I'm not very good at fingering bass but if I don't anchor, I lose my precision when fingering.

Do you guys use your thumb into your playing at all?

but we don't use the
fish to feed the pussy.

http://www.myspace.com/lordpartytime2000

Old 2007-05-11, 17:29
SolothurN
Senior Metalhead

Neck pickup, definatelly. I play 90% of my parts with fingers, but i use my thumb sometimes as well. I guess if you slap much placing your thumb on neck would save your time, but i can't place it anywhere else than the pickup - habits...
Other thing is if you place it on pickup, it makes your lowest string plucking faster a little, because your fingers has a point to stop on - not like when placing your thumb on neck.

Old 2007-05-11, 21:00
sixsicsix
6 lvl 80's sucka.

where you place your thumb also varies the tone you get.
on the bridge pickup will give you more of a plunky and round tone.
the neck pickup gives you a nice growl(sort of the mid point and IMO the best spot)
on the neck is great for jazz and stuff like that where all you want is a sub bass tone and pure low end

http://hosting01.hotchyx.com/adult-...pad_and_pat.jpg

Old 2007-05-13, 12:16
epitaph
Senior Metalhead

I usually use the floating thumb technique on my 5-string basses, but usually place the thumb on the B-string, or on the neck pick-up if I'm playing the B-string

On four string basses I usually place my thumb against the neck pick-up, or possibly against the neck. It really depends on what feels comfortable with each bass

Old 2007-05-13, 12:17
blitz906
Okay.