MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 2007-02-28, 21:51
4d5e6f's Avatar
4d5e6f 4d5e6f is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 503
Send a message via AIM to 4d5e6f
Grounding problem?

I'm going to replace my pickups soon, but I think I have a problem. The guitar came made for EMGs, and I'm switching to passives. EMGs don't use grounding, and passives do. The guitar doesn't have anything in the back connected to the bridge (fixed bridge). How can I ground the guitar? You're supposed to ground to the bridge, right? I don't have any experience with guitar wiring, so I'm probably wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by 4d5e6f : 2007-02-28 at 23:00.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2007-02-28, 23:47
*insert name here*'s Avatar
*insert name here* *insert name here* is offline
Jono
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,761
Send a message via MSN to *insert name here*
I have a question about grounding too.

A guitar I have has a hum, but if I touch (ground) the output jack plate, it stops.
What should I do to ground the guitar. Perhaps run a wire from the jack plate somewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2007-03-01, 01:51
Soulinsane's Avatar
Soulinsane Soulinsane is offline
Pirate Lawd
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hanger 18
Posts: 6,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by *insert name here*
I have a question about grounding too.

A guitar I have has a hum, but if I touch (ground) the output jack plate, it stops.
What should I do to ground the guitar. Perhaps run a wire from the jack plate somewhere?


When you touch the strings, does it have the same effect as touching the jack? The ground should already be run from the jack to all of the guitars components.
__________________
Authorized Mercury Magnetics tech/dealer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2007-03-01, 01:56
Soulinsane's Avatar
Soulinsane Soulinsane is offline
Pirate Lawd
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hanger 18
Posts: 6,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4d5e6f
I'm going to replace my pickups soon, but I think I have a problem. The guitar came made for EMGs, and I'm switching to passives. EMGs don't use grounding, and passives do. The guitar doesn't have anything in the back connected to the bridge (fixed bridge). How can I ground the guitar? You're supposed to ground to the bridge, right? I don't have any experience with guitar wiring, so I'm probably wrong. Any help would be appreciated.


If there is no ground to any part that connects to the bridge and you have no ideal what you are doing then fine someone that knows how to do the work for you.

Please.
__________________
Authorized Mercury Magnetics tech/dealer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2007-03-01, 17:39
4d5e6f's Avatar
4d5e6f 4d5e6f is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 503
Send a message via AIM to 4d5e6f
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulinsane
If there is no ground to any part that connects to the bridge and you have no ideal what you are doing then fine someone that knows how to do the work for you.

Please.

Who would know how to do this kind of work?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2007-03-01, 23:27
Soulinsane's Avatar
Soulinsane Soulinsane is offline
Pirate Lawd
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hanger 18
Posts: 6,507
A guitar tech would know or anyone that has played a while and does their own guitar work (like me).

Ask around the local shops or see if any of your friends could ask around for you too. Someone will know how to do it and will help you. Its not a hard thing to modify the guitar but still easy to fuckup without care. It needs to be done right.
__________________
Authorized Mercury Magnetics tech/dealer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2007-03-03, 18:10
the_bleeding's Avatar
the_bleeding the_bleeding is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,816
Send a message via MSN to the_bleeding
umm, ground it to the other pots in the control cavity.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahmers Fridge
In the US "fanny" is a word used to describe the ass or butt. Here in the UK "fanny" is a lady garden (vagina)
I was very bemused as a youngster watching the Golden Girls when Blanche said she was going to "spank her fanny" I had visions of a geriatric vertical bacon sandwich red and bruised from being disciplined!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2007-03-04, 15:50
4d5e6f's Avatar
4d5e6f 4d5e6f is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 503
Send a message via AIM to 4d5e6f
"On Les Pauls, you can solder a wire onto a spring from a ball point
pen and drill a hole from the control cavity diagonally to the large
studs for the tailpiece. Unscrew the tail piece studs and feed the wire
thru the hole. Reinstall the stud. The spring provides contact with the
stud and is invisible. Solder the wire to any ground point like the
back of a pot." This should work, right?

Last edited by 4d5e6f : 2007-03-04 at 17:31.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.