MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording

Old 2007-01-19, 01:27
underaserpentsun
Senior Metalhead

Crate Blue Voodoo 120w Tube Choices..

As some of you already know my Blue Voodoo 120H (old blue model) is lacking in volume and gain and tone.. clean sounds nice though. I can sit right in front of it with full volume and a 4x12 cab and its not that loud so I'm going to try some new tubes. I've never done this before, this is my first tube amp. Which tubes are preamp tubes and which are the power tubes? Should I change them all or just the pre's? Which brand should I get? I want the clearest, heaviest gain possible with this amp. After I sort out the tubes I'll be running a 4x12 cab with Celestion V30's or Hellatones or a 2x12 cab with Eminence Swamp Things. Not sure which yet. Reccomendations on tube/speaker combinations are welcome. I currently use guitars with EMG 85 bridge pups and SD JB bridge pups.

Can I bias this amp myself with a relatively cheap biasing device? I hear they produce these with a cold bias and its best to turn it up for high gain stuff. How much do shops usually charge to do this? Thanks

Old 2007-01-19, 01:37
sixsicsix
6 lvl 80's sucka.

get svetlana tubes or groove tubes.
the bigger ones in the back are your power tubes.

http://hosting01.hotchyx.com/adult-...pad_and_pat.jpg

Old 2007-01-19, 01:42
tmfreak
Slayer of dumb cunts

Crate blue voodoo amps other than the 300 are self biasing amps.
...Its very annoying to keep having to hear some socially-disabled teen come on these boards talking about all the drugs he's started doing so that he can maybe grasp onto some kind of positive response so he feels better about himself and what he's doing.
About requiem. Aint it the truth...

Old 2007-01-19, 01:53
underaserpentsun
Senior Metalhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixsicsix
get svetlana tubes or groove tubes.