MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2007-01-14, 23:05
Bathory88 Bathory88 is offline
New Blood
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Two questions, Phantom Power, USB connector

OK i just got some new gear and am knew two recording , i have two quesitons if anyone can answer for me. I have a USB MOBILEPRE, that is connected to my computer and is always on, should i just leave it on with my pc, or do i need to unplug my usb connector after im done using it? I turn off monitors and stuff ect anyway. Also second quesiton is Phantom Power. I have my LINE 6 head into my usb port and it sounds better using phantom power. Does Phantom power cause any problems to use this way? Thanks let me now.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2007-01-15, 07:26
Soeru's Avatar
Soeru Soeru is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Land of Dust
Posts: 3,551
Disable phantom power when you are not using condenser microphones or mixers/DI's/devices that require phantom power, that's what they are really meant for. Not sure if it's healthy for your amp head, it's not designed to accept 48 volt phantom power the same way a condenser mic would.

It's a USB device so there should be no problem if you keep it plugged in all the time, just like a webcam or scanner, it doesn't matter.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by far_beyond_sane

(Did you know In Flames had a 2005 album called "Come Clarity"? How prophetic. I think they're trying to tell us all their sperm are dead.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2007-01-15, 10:54
davie_gravy's Avatar
davie_gravy davie_gravy is offline
Metal As Fuck!
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: LR AR
Posts: 2,680
Send a message via MSN to davie_gravy Send a message via Yahoo to davie_gravy
Yes, it's prob not healthy at all. I would disable the phantom power. Like Soreu said, only use phantom power for devices that specifically require that extra power. If turning off the phantom power doesn't get you a strong enough signal coming in, you may consider getting a direct injection box to help balance out those line level signals. I finally broke down and got an active one, and now I record going direct into my DI into my USB using phantom power. I get a clean and strong level signal going into my USB interface this way.
__________________
__________________
__________________
__________________
__________________
R.I.P. Dimebag
My Music

BuildTheMusic.com is your #1 FREE online guitar resource center.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2007-01-15, 11:30
Soeru's Avatar
Soeru Soeru is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Land of Dust
Posts: 3,551
By the way if you're buying a DI(it's pretty much necessary for direct recording with amps that don't have a DI out), I strongly suggest the passive Palmer PDI-09. Doesn't require batteries/phantom power at all, it's specifically designed for guitarists and has one of the best cabinet emulations out there, very useful for both recording without having to mic and live situations.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by far_beyond_sane

(Did you know In Flames had a 2005 album called "Come Clarity"? How prophetic. I think they're trying to tell us all their sperm are dead.)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.