MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Music Theory

Old 2006-12-17, 21:33
Sic_Fitzravia
Metalhead

Walking Bass Fingerstyle Rhytm

im a beginner in songwriting.currently im very much interested in playing walking bass style however im not sure whether that should the bassline is in A minor pentatonic if i play A minor chord progressions or is it play any note within reach of a certain chord? im an autodidact and would appreciate any help.

Old 2006-12-18, 03:23
basstendencies
Senior Metalhead

walking basslines can incorporate any notes, not just scale/chord notes (although scale and chordal tones are the blueprint for your walking line). these other notes are called "passing notes". there are a few simple rules you may want to consider also. first, you should play the root on the first beat after a chord change, and secondly try and play a note the leads to a chord tone just before the change. example:
4/4
Am Dm Em Am
E 5-7-8---|---------|----8-7-|5-8-----4|
A-------7-|5-8---8-| 7-5-----|-----7---|
D---------|----7----|--------|---------|
G --------|---------|---------|---------|

i hope this makes some kind of sense, ive been drinking a bit and im having a hard time explaining. if you can, try and find some recent issues of guitar worlds bass guitar magazine. theyve been featuring some excellent lessons from berklee's tim d'agostino on exactly this. hope this helped a bit.

Old 2006-12-18, 05:20
Sic_Fitzravia
Metalhead

so its not necessary to follow the scales..ive tried writing the basslines by scales but it doesnt sound really walking if u know what i mean. this walking bass style can also be done on augmented and diminshed chords am i wrong?
trying to add some variety in my songwriting. thanks for the feedback.

Old 2006-12-18, 18:39
basstendencies
Senior Metalhead