MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

Old 2006-09-29, 04:10
davie_gravy
Metal As Fuck!

Help Me! (adjust my db pedal)

I just scored this Tama Iron Cobra cheap and well... I'm new to drumming and so I don't know what I'm looking for as far as feel and how to adjust it. I see all the different adjustment points but I don't know what tightening or loosening to each will do to the feel...

Can you guys draw on my attachment in paint or whatever and re-attach on how you have your double bass pedal setup? If not, just tell me what to adjust for the different feels. The picture shows the pedal in the resting position.

I appreciate it greatly to anyone who shares their setup with me. Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg db_pedal.JPG (94.6 KB, 119 views)

BuildTheMusic.com is your #1 FREE online guitar resource center.

Old 2006-09-29, 09:13
jimmers
Senior Metalhead

You've just got to take some time to mess about with it, really; there's no right and wrong as such.

I think the best thing you can do is try the extremes first, for example springs at full adjustment/minimum adjustment; then try different extreme beater angles etc. This will give you a rough idea what you DON'T like, then you just have to make minor adjustments to get it exactly as you want.

Just don't be fooled into thinking that because Drummer_A has his springs all the way up, or Drummer_Z has his beaters 1 inch away from the head that they're the definitive ways of doing things.

Everyone sing the mantra with me.. "the only way to get better and to get comfy with your playing is to put the time in behind your kit"

Repeat 50,000 times.

Old 2006-09-29, 14:36
davie_gravy
Metal As Fuck!