MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-06-28, 14:53
Soeru's Avatar
Soeru Soeru is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Land of Dust
Posts: 3,551
Something wrong with my noisegate?

When I try to run my Boss NS2 through my Engl head's FX loop it seems it doesn't work at all. The "reduction" light on the NS2 never switches on and earlier today I managed to hear a radio station at a faint volume with the master volume relatively high. This accompanied by faint humming too, and switching it on and off shows clearly that it's not doing anything.

But the NS2 works perfectly when I run it in front of the amp, not in the FX loop.

I could do it either way with a SS amp's effects loop, but my NS2 only works in front of my Engl, not in the FX loop which is how I want it. What am I doing wrong?

By the way what's that knob on top of the FX loop jacks that sais "Dry" and "Effect"? I noticed moving it towards "effect" makes my effects sound a whole lot louder.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by far_beyond_sane

(Did you know In Flames had a 2005 album called "Come Clarity"? How prophetic. I think they're trying to tell us all their sperm are dead.)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2006-06-28, 17:24
brainsforbreakfast's Avatar
brainsforbreakfast brainsforbreakfast is offline
El Diablo sin pantalones
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Yggdrassyl
Posts: 4,321
Send a message via MSN to brainsforbreakfast
I think it's your fx loop volume. Did you check with a different pedal?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darko
Quote:
Originally Posted by Requiem
Why would you sig that?
Why not? Why would you sig me saying that I hate you? I was serious there, too.


I'm in despair! The internet has left me in despair!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2006-06-29, 01:44
xdislexicx xdislexicx is offline
TEH PWNZOR!!!1qa
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The West.
Posts: 4,433
are you using the ns-2's fx ins and outs or the regular ones?
__________________
Friends don't let friends play Krank!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2006-06-29, 08:06
Valtiel's Avatar
Valtiel Valtiel is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: West Coast
Posts: 839
Send a message via AIM to Valtiel Send a message via MSN to Valtiel
Yea that knob adjusts the amount of signal being sent out of the fx loop. This allows you to maintain a dry signal on top of your effected signal but unless you have the knob set all the way to "wet" the noise supressor wont do anything because its not getting enough of a signal through it.
__________________
"So often our hands get caught up in ruts of muscle memory. 'Muscle memory' is an accurate term. We get used to doing certain things, without even being aware of them. This ultimately not only shapes and therefore limits our technique, it also shapes what we compose, what we write. We end up thinking still unknowingly trapped in that box." -Adam Nitti

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_bleeding
buy a stick of graphite (art stores) and rub it into your nut
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2006-06-29, 20:01
GUITARFETUS GUITARFETUS is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 166
so you CAN put an ns-2 back there? how would i set it up if i had a boss rv-5, a boss pitchshifter/delay, and an ns-2. how would i set that up all together in the fx loop? becouse i had the same problem, i wanted the noise supressor back there but it didnt realy do anything.
__________________
...farewell to the flesh...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2006-06-30, 00:24
Valtiel's Avatar
Valtiel Valtiel is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: West Coast
Posts: 839
Send a message via AIM to Valtiel Send a message via MSN to Valtiel
Well if you stick the NS-2 in that chain, you have to make sure that if you have "wet/dry" knob that its set to "wet".
__________________
"So often our hands get caught up in ruts of muscle memory. 'Muscle memory' is an accurate term. We get used to doing certain things, without even being aware of them. This ultimately not only shapes and therefore limits our technique, it also shapes what we compose, what we write. We end up thinking still unknowingly trapped in that box." -Adam Nitti

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_bleeding
buy a stick of graphite (art stores) and rub it into your nut
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2006-06-30, 06:21
Soeru's Avatar
Soeru Soeru is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Land of Dust
Posts: 3,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valtiel
Well if you stick the NS-2 in that chain, you have to make sure that if you have "wet/dry" knob that its set to "wet".



Ok, I'll give this a shot, but I think I tried this already to no avail. The reduction light never switched on I think(usually happens right after you mute the strings, not with my fireball though). And no xdislexicx, I'm using the regular in and out of the NS2.

Yesterday I ran my DD3 and EVH Phase 90 through NS2's built-in effects loop in the amp's loop. It worked fine, but no noise reduction was happening.

What else could it be? I'll try it with the wet knob all the way up when I get home. Thanks.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by far_beyond_sane

(Did you know In Flames had a 2005 album called "Come Clarity"? How prophetic. I think they're trying to tell us all their sperm are dead.)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:33.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.