MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2006-04-27, 21:48
MeTal 805's Avatar
MeTal 805 MeTal 805 is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to MeTal 805 Send a message via MSN to MeTal 805
OpinionS...

Would you guys suggest a Mt-2 metalzone through my gt3500 crate half stack or am i good with it alone.....? I heard the Mt-2 gives you badd ass lead tones...?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2006-04-27, 22:13
HalfmastTrousers HalfmastTrousers is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dorchester, MA
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to HalfmastTrousers
not really. the mid frequencies are kinda wierd on it so that you really cant get a good fat lead tone.
__________________

with my own time role your own innocence by
grab on to my sleeve the one that grabs at your ankle
debate to understand that we all have a flaw
then fail to represent your life as you know it
god grant you one wish to turn back the time... correct and create

me and my star
matthew good night
you know by law when you'll be forgiven
maria my star
matthew goodnight
you know my lord when you'll be forgiven
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2006-04-27, 22:43
*insert name here*'s Avatar
*insert name here* *insert name here* is offline
Jono
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,761
Send a message via MSN to *insert name here*
How much is your budget?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2006-04-27, 22:43
NuMustDie's Avatar
NuMustDie NuMustDie is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Apt. 213
Posts: 231
Send a message via MSN to NuMustDie
If harsh trebly leads is your thing, giver.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tragic Falls
I am playing through a crate gt1200 half stack an whenever I turn it up to a high volume it sounds really bad any suggestions?

DEATH'SRIG
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2006-04-27, 22:53
John Holland's Avatar
John Holland John Holland is offline
IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Angelskingarden
Posts: 2,395
Send a message via AIM to John Holland
If you don't like what the GT3500 is doing already, then replace it with something else, because I can guarantee you that a Metal Master or MT-2 is'nt going to sound any better.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2006-04-28, 00:25
MeTal 805's Avatar
MeTal 805 MeTal 805 is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to MeTal 805 Send a message via MSN to MeTal 805
well my gt3500 gives me a good heavy tone but when it is played in high volumes it gets alot of feedback.U know whenever u pump up the volume on the solo channel u get bad noise how can i get rid off that?...will the metal zone help?....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2006-04-28, 01:42
etherealprince etherealprince is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 138
Send a message via AIM to etherealprince
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeTal 805
U know whenever u pump up the volume on the solo channel u get bad noise how can i get rid off that?...will the metal zone help?....


The only thing the Metal Zone will do is add MORE noise.

You need yourself a noise supressor. NS-2 is good, I use the build in NS on my GT6. But the guys around here know more about it than me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2006-04-28, 11:51
TheLeviathan's Avatar
TheLeviathan TheLeviathan is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 131
Send a message via MSN to TheLeviathan
If you are in America, get an ISP Noise Decimator.

Anybody know any places in Britain where I can pick one of these up?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2006-04-28, 17:04
Amadeus's Avatar
Amadeus Amadeus is offline
Quantum.
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,149
Not me, but I can add a sidetrack question:
Why does it help to put a noise gate BEFORE the amp if it's not a pedal that's causing the noise? I thought the problem was inside the amp, not the signal from the guitar.

As for the metal zone, try it out and if you like it go for it, but with a stack like that I can't see why you should.
__________________
Listening to Cannibal Corpse and cutting trees with a chainsaw, now that's metal

"He preferred the hard truth over his dearest illusion. That, is the heart of science."
- Carl Sagan

"Imagination is more important than intelligence" - Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2006-04-28, 19:17
TheLeviathan's Avatar
TheLeviathan TheLeviathan is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 131
Send a message via MSN to TheLeviathan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amadeus
Not me, but I can add a sidetrack question:
Why does it help to put a noise gate BEFORE the amp if it's not a pedal that's causing the noise? I thought the problem was inside the amp, not the signal from the guitar.

As for the metal zone, try it out and if you like it go for it, but with a stack like that I can't see why you should.


You can put noisegates in the loop I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2006-04-28, 20:27
Silent Night 6 6's Avatar
Silent Night 6 6 Silent Night 6 6 is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,968
I don't know why you would need any more gain, etc. than that amp already has.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2006-04-28, 20:33
John Holland's Avatar
John Holland John Holland is offline
IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Angelskingarden
Posts: 2,395
Send a message via AIM to John Holland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeTal 805
well my gt3500 gives me a good heavy tone but when it is played in high volumes it gets alot of feedback.U know whenever u pump up the volume on the solo channel u get bad noise how can i get rid off that?...will the metal zone help?....


I can also tell you, I owned one of these heads, and this thing just did'nt like being turned up past 3. If you want my honest opinion, you should sell that head and get a Randall Cyclone or a VH140. These amplifiers have a similiar tone to that Shockwave, but there's a reason why I've only seen one band ever use a Shockwave live, and I can't count on both hands how many have used either the Cyclone or the VH140 live.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2006-04-28, 22:56
tmfreak's Avatar
tmfreak tmfreak is offline
Slayer of dumb cunts
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, va
Posts: 3,622
Send a message via AIM to tmfreak
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLeviathan
You can put noisegates in the loop I believe.



That officially answered a standing quesiton i've had for forever and a day. Never even thought of that.

How dumb am i
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darko
...Its very annoying to keep having to hear some socially-disabled teen come on these boards talking about all the drugs he's started doing so that he can maybe grasp onto some kind of positive response so he feels better about himself and what he's doing.
About requiem. Aint it the truth...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2006-04-29, 02:24
MeTal 805's Avatar
MeTal 805 MeTal 805 is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to MeTal 805 Send a message via MSN to MeTal 805
so your saying to sell my shockwave...?lol
the shockwave is badd ass....
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2006-04-29, 10:31
Timur Timur is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 306
Send a message via MSN to Timur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amadeus
Not me, but I can add a sidetrack question:
Why does it help to put a noise gate BEFORE the amp if it's not a pedal that's causing the noise? I thought the problem was inside the amp, not the signal from the guitar.

As for the metal zone, try it out and if you like it go for it, but with a stack like that I can't see why you should.


I think it might be that the little noise from the guitar and pedals is the noise that gets boosted alot in the amp as it only comes when compression occurs (distortion)
__________________
FOR SALE IS AN ENGL PREAMP http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28122


Quote:
Originally Posted by Killjoy
A DOD Death Metal pedal works just fine, but only with a decent Marshall. I run mine thru an MG30 watt combo, and it's brutal.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2006-04-30, 14:35
DeathCS's Avatar
DeathCS DeathCS is offline
Wasted Custom User title
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis.
Posts: 5,002
Send a message via AIM to DeathCS Send a message via MSN to DeathCS
the reason why you dont see many bands using a shockwave is because its only like 2 years old and its made by crate, which is not the most popular brand. where as the ampeg vh140 has been out since the early 90's.

I own a shockwave and the solo channel has much better sound than the mt2 could ever give you. its a good amp.
__________________
This is my signature.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2006-04-30, 14:36
John Holland's Avatar
John Holland John Holland is offline
IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Angelskingarden
Posts: 2,395
Send a message via AIM to John Holland
Nope. The Shockwave has been the Tidalwave for a LONG time. http://www.crateamps.com/html/product.cfm?pid=110

Last edited by John Holland : 2006-04-30 at 14:39.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2006-04-30, 14:41
MeTal 805's Avatar
MeTal 805 MeTal 805 is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to MeTal 805 Send a message via MSN to MeTal 805
hey deathcS i have a question........do u use a boss ns-2 on your shockwave?
because u know in high volumes youll get alot of feedback when your not playing....or when you pause...etc...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2006-04-30, 14:59
John Holland's Avatar
John Holland John Holland is offline
IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Angelskingarden
Posts: 2,395
Send a message via AIM to John Holland
Well here's a question for you ( I also owned one of these ) ... what is your actual master volume when the thing starts feeding back?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2006-04-30, 21:21
DeathCS's Avatar
DeathCS DeathCS is offline
Wasted Custom User title
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis.
Posts: 5,002
Send a message via AIM to DeathCS Send a message via MSN to DeathCS
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Holland
Nope. The Shockwave has been the Tidalwave for a LONG time. http://www.crateamps.com/html/product.cfm?pid=110

how long? looks pretty modern.
__________________
This is my signature.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:41.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.