MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

Old 2006-02-27, 16:58
davie_gravy
Metal As Fuck!

needing some opinions and suggestions

Okay,

I'm purchasing a drum kit this week. It's final! Now I'm the kind of person who wants all the opinions about stuff he can get before making a decision. I know I'm not educated on kits AT ALL, so therefore I'm either listening to the bullshit ppl post on musiciansfriend or listening to someone who actually knows their shit like the ppl here. So with that said...

I need a kit. I have a bit of a flexible budget $300 - $500, but I'm a tightwad so I'd like a cheap but still good quality kit. I am a beginner, but not fresh to the game. I actually play drums in all the jams I do with locals, so I have my shit down, but still am considering myself a beginner.

Here's what I'm considering:

Pacific Drums by DW EZ 5 pc. w/ Cymbals
Sonor 503 Std. 5 pc.
Ludwig Accent 5 pc.

Then also the Pearl Forum and Tama Swingstar, but they peak on the money I want to spend, cause I have to add shipping to all this too. Maybe if I could get musiciansfriend to throw in some cymbals and hardware to make it more worth my while.

Anyways, can you drum gurus take a few moments to tell me what would be a better buy and why. The only thing I can see being a plus would be the Ludwig has a wood snare. Please share any/all ideas, suggestions, comments, slander, etc. Thanks!

BuildTheMusic.com is your #1 FREE online guitar resource center.

Last edited by davie_gravy : 2006-02-27 at 20:22.

Old 2006-02-27, 22:21
NZ black metal drumm
Post-whore

Tama Swingstar would be the best of the bunch.

The Pearl Forum is alright, but the Swingstarr is better, the Forum is the worst Pearl kit.

Stay away from Pacific, their hardware is dog shit. (although if you don't mind forking out for a higher level Pacific and getting decent hardware, the shells aren't too bad)