Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording

Old 2005-11-28, 23:05
Sepulturick
Metalhead
Banned

Tech 21 Trademark 60 vs Roland Cube 60

hi, which is the best amp of these two?

i want tone and flexibility.

Which one has the best "Metal" sound too? I play a lot of thrash, death metal type stuff. I am no good at it of course, i am still a beginner but still....i need my amp to be able to do metal.

thanks

Old 2005-11-29, 00:10
Soeru
Post-whore

I had the same exact dilemma, but it was between the Cube 30 and Trademark 30. I went for the Tech 21. Way more sound flexibility and quality and it's much more possible to shape your sound while the Cube I think is a bit more limited. The Cube does have a few effects that the Tech 21 doesn't have, but I find those useless. The Tech 21 is extremely versatile but it does metal excellently, I also play mostly death and thrash.

Get the Trademark. But I think if you're going to spend that much why not save a little bit more and get something better?

(Did you know In Flames had a 2005 album called "Come Clarity"? How prophetic. I think they're trying to tell us all their sperm are dead.)

Old 2005-11-29, 01:01
*insert name here*
Jono

Try them both out.

Old 2005-11-29, 02:05
Soeru
Post-whore

Quote:
Originally Posted by *insert name here*
Try them both out.

Wasn't really an option for me, but the sound samples give you a decent idea of how the amp sounds. Get the Tech 21, but the Roland is not at all a bad choice. Their both the same bang for the buck. By this I mean that the Roland is slightly cheaper, and slightly not as good as the Tech 21. Can't go wrong either way. The Roland looks cooler though. :P

I seriously doubt you'll need 60W though, maybe a Trademark 30 or Cube 30 would suit your needs better. Even 30W is very very loud(the Trademark 30 has a custom 50W speaker).

You said you're a beginner, why not get a Cube 15? That would be plenty.