MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 2005-07-21, 15:07
k13m's Avatar
k13m k13m is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vlissingen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2,680
Send a message via MSN to k13m
edge pro??

i deleted the thread on changing licend to original floyd.

it can be done with some cutting in the wood, wich i dont want.

now im looking for a edge pro, since i have this licensed shitthingy.
ive already owned a ibanez with a edge pro, wich i loved, but are these fuckers for sale seperatly?? i couldnt find shit on the ibanez site, well parts etc, but no info on measurements etc.


a edge pro says ibanez on the trem doesnt it?? just to make sure

sry to bore u all with this crap... again
__________________

< no wonder hes mad!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2005-07-21, 16:16
davie_gravy's Avatar
davie_gravy davie_gravy is offline
Metal As Fuck!
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: LR AR
Posts: 2,680
Send a message via MSN to davie_gravy Send a message via Yahoo to davie_gravy
Quote:
Originally Posted by k13m
i deleted the thread on changing licend to original floyd.





I had some pictures and questions about my new guitar in that thread and was waiting on some replies... No prob, I'll re-post.
__________________
__________________
__________________
__________________
__________________
R.I.P. Dimebag
My Music

BuildTheMusic.com is your #1 FREE online guitar resource center.

Last edited by davie_gravy : 2005-07-21 at 16:37.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2005-07-22, 04:13
*insert name here*'s Avatar
*insert name here* *insert name here* is offline
Jono
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,761
Send a message via MSN to *insert name here*
The Ibanez website has A list of all their replacement parts,im pretty sure you will be able to get an edge pro.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2005-07-22, 08:44
HermanRi! HermanRi! is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,524
should be here

http://www.ibanezrules.com/parts.htm#Parts

he has pretty much everything for ibanez's

if it aint there, email him and ask, i doubt he updates it daily so he may have whatever you want in stock
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2005-07-22, 10:22
k13m's Avatar
k13m k13m is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vlissingen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2,680
Send a message via MSN to k13m
DAVY: sry man i kinda didnt see that

user 1: thnx, ive seen the parts on the ibanez site, but i couldnt mail anyone for the specs etc. ur link should get em sumwhere
__________________

< no wonder hes mad!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2005-07-23, 07:19
Necro_Butcher's Avatar
Necro_Butcher Necro_Butcher is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PEI, Canada
Posts: 1,103
Send a message via MSN to Necro_Butcher
I have an edge in my ibanez, it rules
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by k13m
so i guess its kinda nice for leads but i thought it sucked ass for soloing
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2005-07-23, 08:08
Slabbefusk's Avatar
Slabbefusk Slabbefusk is offline
FUCKING HOFF-STYLE!!!!!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,550
I think you can switch from Edge to Edge Pro right off.
__________________
When faced with a difficult situation, Jesus asks himself, "What would Chuck Norris do?"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2005-07-23, 09:37
k13m's Avatar
k13m k13m is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vlissingen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2,680
Send a message via MSN to k13m
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slabbefusk
I think you can switch from Edge to Edge Pro right off.
i sure hope so, i know a guitar builder but hes on vacation, so i cant ask him

and i cant find shit on internet so far.

all i know is some saddle differense, co im gonna try findout if the lo-pro edge saddles fit in a edge pro
__________________

< no wonder hes mad!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2005-07-23, 11:53
Slabbefusk's Avatar
Slabbefusk Slabbefusk is offline
FUCKING HOFF-STYLE!!!!!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,550
Edge Pro is basically a lo-pro edge.
__________________
When faced with a difficult situation, Jesus asks himself, "What would Chuck Norris do?"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2005-07-23, 13:50
k13m's Avatar
k13m k13m is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vlissingen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2,680
Send a message via MSN to k13m
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slabbefusk
Edge Pro is basically a lo-pro edge.
hmm, im gonna talk the guy in the store oevr to let me borrow a edge pro and see how it works in my axe, lol, never gonna happen

anyway, im pretty sure it will fit the whiole in the body, and if i can replace the sadles (if necasary) it should work out fine

also, the newer models do hae a edge pro instead of a lo-pro edge in the older models, i dunno if they actualy changed the body wholes etc??
__________________

< no wonder hes mad!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2005-07-23, 15:35
HalfmastTrousers HalfmastTrousers is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dorchester, MA
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to HalfmastTrousers
right well I have a licensed floyd in my jackson...


Whats the best bridge I can replace it with without having to cut the wood?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2005-07-23, 15:57
k13m's Avatar
k13m k13m is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vlissingen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2,680
Send a message via MSN to k13m
well, i spoke to a gut that sayd that edge pro trems cant be replaced for others, dont ask em y.

maybe a original floyd will fit chape wise, but im not sure, it seems a lot trickier than it looks from what ive heard, string spacings and where the string hits the saddle, edge pros, have saddles wich the string touches more to the back than other trems, so the whole scale thing doesnt match anymore than.

but thats what ive heard, im waiting for my guitarbilder buddy to come home from vakation to enlighten me on this subject
__________________

< no wonder hes mad!!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2005-07-24, 08:44
Necro_Butcher's Avatar
Necro_Butcher Necro_Butcher is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PEI, Canada
Posts: 1,103
Send a message via MSN to Necro_Butcher
since we are on the topic of ibanez's here (well kinda)


I'd like to point out that i just recently got my RG 550, and i must say it is the best 320 (canadian) dollars i have ever spent.

the wizard 1 neck is abosolutely insane, thinest thing ever, feels so awesome for leads, the action came really low and nice and there is only a little bit of fret buzz, and i can tell by looking at the tremolo that it hasnt been setup 100 percent perfect, im gonna try and someone who knows what they are doing to perfectly set this thing up for me.
anyways yesterday i picked up my jackson and the neck felt like a fret block to me, i used to love my jacksons neck.

the pickups are as expected, not too great, but ill be putting some dimarzios in it me thinks.

also the tuning stability of this axe is A+


to K13m, how do you like your RG 1570?, ibanez makes a left handed model of it and i think i might be interested in it sometime in the near future
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by k13m
so i guess its kinda nice for leads but i thought it sucked ass for soloing
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2005-07-24, 09:36
k13m's Avatar
k13m k13m is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vlissingen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2,680
Send a message via MSN to k13m
i didnt get a rg1570, it played it and it was nice, but i didnt like the pickups att all, and the colour was simply hideous.

i now have a 2nd hand rg 3120, with a flamed maple top
theres pics of it in the pics of your gear thread.

also, setting up a trem is easier than it might look.

just tune the guitar, and when its in tune see it the tremolo is paralel to the body, if not mess around with those screws in the back a bit to lower/raise the trembar, until its nice and even with the body.
this means tuning, screwiung, tuning again, screwing, tuning again for a while until its nice, after that u can adjust the action with the pins in the body, wich the trembar hangs in.

i takes some practice, but u cant fuck up anything (unless u do things extremely wrong), after a while setting a tremolo is the easiest thing in the world
__________________

< no wonder hes mad!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2005-07-25, 10:20
k13m's Avatar
k13m k13m is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vlissingen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2,680
Send a message via MSN to k13m
i thing im wondering bout.

if the spring are old and streched over the years, wil this cause unstable tuning??
maybe thats the trems problem, cuz if i tune my guitar, and pull the bar up, al the strings are higher in tunin, and when i pull the bar dopwn the strings are lower tuned, so im guessing the spring lost their power to make the trem return to pitch nice.

or its just the tremolo
__________________

< no wonder hes mad!!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2005-07-25, 12:20
HermanRi! HermanRi! is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by k13m
i thing im wondering bout.

if the spring are old and streched over the years, wil this cause unstable tuning??
maybe thats the trems problem, cuz if i tune my guitar, and pull the bar up, al the strings are higher in tunin, and when i pull the bar dopwn the strings are lower tuned, so im guessing the spring lost their power to make the trem return to pitch nice.

or its just the tremolo


u might aswell replace the springs
they dont cost much
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2005-07-25, 12:22
k13m's Avatar
k13m k13m is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vlissingen, the Netherlands
Posts: 2,680
Send a message via MSN to k13m
Quote:
Originally Posted by User01
u might aswell replace the springs
they dont cost much
yeah i was thinking that 2, might aswell try, if it doesnt improve, ill save up for a edge pro
__________________

< no wonder hes mad!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:20.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.