MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Music Theory

Old 2005-05-24, 02:24
revoltingblob
New Blood

how to write sad-sounding guitar riffs?

hey, does anyone have any tips on writing sad-sounding black metal riffs? I am new to writing and am interested in writing riffs for my atmospheric black metal band. If anyone has any suggestions, they would be greatly appreciated.

Old 2005-05-24, 09:05
johnmansley
Schrodinger's Cat
Forum Leader

Use the minor key and inverted power chords/diads. I think there's a thread in this forum about inverting power chords and some different shapes of diads.

Red Sparowes - At the Soundless Dawn

Old 2005-05-24, 12:02
Amon rA
Senior Metalhead

slow goes hand in hand with sad
and yeah, what mansley said
"The complexity of the penguins' lifestyle testifies to a Divine Creator," said one commentator on Christian Answers. "To think that natural selection or even the penguins themselves could come up with the idea to migrate miles and miles multiple times each year without their partner or their offspring is a bit insulting to my intellect. How great is our God!"

Old 2005-05-24, 19:04
guitar_demon
MotörCat

what inversion do you mean john? or any in general
Ok. You're literate, intelligent and funny-FBS

"Calm down, Edgar back in your cage"-far beyond sane
"you suck the cat-avatar-guy doesnt"-The Doc
Now My Legacy Shall Live Forever!!

Old 2005-05-24, 21:05
brainsforbreakfast
El Diablo sin pantalones

figured black metal band play their power chords inverted
Originally Posted by Requiem
Why would you sig that?
Why not? Why would you sig me saying that I hate you? I was serious there, too.

I'm in despair! The internet has left me in despair!

Old 2005-05-24, 21:57
SARS
Post-whore

http://metaltabs.com/forum/showpost...7&postcount=409