MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Music Theory

Old 2005-03-26, 04:09
crispykid
Senior Metalhead

new to theory

im new to theory id like to get into it for soloing purposes but i have no clue about anything i know some scales but thats it. ive always been into my riffing but now im getting more into solos. any sites, books, or help you guys can give to me about theory from step one. i got the skills to play msot scales im just confused about all of it.

Old 2005-03-26, 11:27
andrewc
Post-whore
Banned

Old 2005-03-26, 15:22
guitar_demon
MotörCat

that is a good start andy, but it doesnt seem like hes to interested into learning to read sheet music ( i suggest it though

what exactly confuses you though?
Ok. You're literate, intelligent and funny-FBS

"Calm down, Edgar back in your cage"-far beyond sane
"you suck the cat-avatar-guy doesnt"-The Doc
Now My Legacy Shall Live Forever!!

Old 2005-03-26, 15:53
crispykid
Senior Metalhead

all the different keys, moveable patterns cofuse the shit out of me. like i said i know a few scales but nothing beyond that. is there any kind of books or anything or any sites that would help or even on here?

Old 2005-03-26, 16:10
guitar_demon
MotörCat

the scale keys confuse you? like A major and Bb scales...

Old 2005-03-26, 16:29
Kalmahswamp
Post-whore

youre not going to be able to shred out solos over night...just practice scales slowly

Old 2005-03-26, 20:01
guitardid
New Blood

Cool solos

conect the dots

Old 2005-03-27, 03:43
crispykid
Senior Metalhead

i know how to read the fuckin' tabs for scales and can play all the ones i know, but when someone says to move it down the neck were do you go im lost what i mean. maybe i need a theory for dummies book sounds good i wish they had it. im lost and confused.

Old 2005-03-27, 03:46
guitar_demon
MotörCat

well to move it down the neck you can either