MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Gear & Recording
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
  #41  
Old 2004-11-04, 18:10
BLS's Avatar
BLS BLS is offline
STUFFED ANIMAL ORGY
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8,705
Send a message via ICQ to BLS Send a message via AIM to BLS Send a message via Yahoo to BLS
Only 3 times??

are you gay or something?
__________________
"Believe the word
I will unlock my door
And pass the cemetery gates"

"Dimebag" Darrell Lance Abbott
08/20/66 - 12/08/04

R.I.P.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 2004-11-04, 18:22
guitar_demon's Avatar
guitar_demon guitar_demon is offline
MotörCat
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: &#26132&#26132
Posts: 7,547
Send a message via AIM to guitar_demon Send a message via MSN to guitar_demon
ok so first off im not a gear head...that said

@ def or dislexic mostly(cause they know all)
where is a good place to start with as far as getting a rack goes?
what exactly does a rack do(completly creats the sound, just kinda shapes the sound from the head...?)
and you use a rack with the head right

oh and what goes into a rack i know its gotta be different for all but just a general idea would be nice
__________________
POW MIA NEVER FORGOTTEN
no one can tell you to turn down your amp unless they're of higher skill or in your band
Why not make shit up as we go-fox
Ok. You're literate, intelligent and funny-FBS

"Calm down, Edgar back in your cage"-far beyond sane
"you suck the cat-avatar-guy doesnt"-The Doc
Now My Legacy Shall Live Forever!!

Last edited by guitar_demon : 2004-11-04 at 18:25.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 2004-11-04, 18:30
brainsforbreakfast's Avatar
brainsforbreakfast brainsforbreakfast is offline
El Diablo sin pantalones
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Yggdrassyl
Posts: 4,321
Send a message via MSN to brainsforbreakfast
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLS
Only 3 times??

are you gay or something?


Well, I have to be easy on you, or the harem...i mean, your friends would get all jealous.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darko
Quote:
Originally Posted by Requiem
Why would you sig that?
Why not? Why would you sig me saying that I hate you? I was serious there, too.


I'm in despair! The internet has left me in despair!
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 2004-11-04, 18:31
Innards-Decay's Avatar
Innards-Decay Innards-Decay is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,665
Send a message via AIM to Innards-Decay
a rack is an amp built from a preamp and power amp in the most basic case. so there is no amp head involved.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transient
Faceshitting...
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 2004-11-04, 18:54
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitar_demon
damn def that engl head is small...
the grill/mesh pattern on the cab is cool though

it is! but just wait untill I get a powerball! \m/

the savage is going to be my home amp, its great because you can crank it a bit without blasting all the walls to the ground...
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 2004-11-04, 18:59
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitar_demon
ok so first off im not a gear head...that said

@ def or dislexic mostly(cause they know all)
where is a good place to start with as far as getting a rack goes?
what exactly does a rack do(completly creats the sound, just kinda shapes the sound from the head...?)
and you use a rack with the head right

oh and what goes into a rack i know its gotta be different for all but just a general idea would be nice


a good place to start is getting a rack case

a 'basic' rack would be a pre-poweramp configuration, thus meaning you have a seperate preamp and poweramp much like my own rack, its the simplest form. But even this combination can get really expensive depending on what you get in your rack.

the preamp shapes your tone and the poweramp just amplifies it.

BUT. the poweramp is important for your tone too, getting a kickass preamp with a shit poweramp will still sound shit, and vice versa.

theres different types of preamps, SS, semi-digital (with a tube in it to colour the distortion) and full tube. I like full tube the best because of their true tube tone, but some people prefer semi-digital ones because they're more versatile in most cases. (more setup options)
And then there's midi preamps, but I won't get into that because that's prolly not something that you'de need to know, midi is for top knotch gear like the new engl e580 preamp. that'll set you back a lot of money though.

Ofcourse you can expand your rack with a lot of crap, like stage tuners (Korg DTR), sound shapers, fx units, eq's, you name it. you can get as crazy as you want. But if you want to start a rack, start out with a good pre and poweramp and build up from there if you feel the need for more options.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 2004-11-04, 19:01
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLS
I hate america..

Def im gonna move to The Netherlands.. got an extra closet i can live in?


pretttty pleassse!

yeah, well actually we've got some empty rooms, which I could rent you haha.

the sweet engl deals are all in germany though. ebay.de baby...
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 2004-11-04, 19:48
Innards-Decay's Avatar
Innards-Decay Innards-Decay is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,665
Send a message via AIM to Innards-Decay
yeah, but we gotta speak german to know what the hell theyre talking about right?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transient
Faceshitting...
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 2004-11-04, 21:35
guitar_demon's Avatar
guitar_demon guitar_demon is offline
MotörCat
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: &#26132&#26132
Posts: 7,547
Send a message via AIM to guitar_demon Send a message via MSN to guitar_demon
well yea
__________________
POW MIA NEVER FORGOTTEN
no one can tell you to turn down your amp unless they're of higher skill or in your band
Why not make shit up as we go-fox
Ok. You're literate, intelligent and funny-FBS

"Calm down, Edgar back in your cage"-far beyond sane
"you suck the cat-avatar-guy doesnt"-The Doc
Now My Legacy Shall Live Forever!!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 2004-11-04, 22:37
Innards-Decay's Avatar
Innards-Decay Innards-Decay is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,665
Send a message via AIM to Innards-Decay
yeah, hey def, if i paid you to buy a savage or something for me and ship it to me, would you?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transient
Faceshitting...
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 2004-11-05, 00:37
xdislexicx xdislexicx is offline
TEH PWNZOR!!!1qa
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The West.
Posts: 4,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Def
a good place to start is getting a rack case

a 'basic' rack would be a pre-poweramp configuration, thus meaning you have a seperate preamp and poweramp much like my own rack, its the simplest form. But even this combination can get really expensive depending on what you get in your rack..

totally

Quote:
Originally Posted by Def
the preamp shapes your tone and the poweramp just amplifies it..

totally

Quote:
Originally Posted by Def
BUT. the poweramp is important for your tone too, getting a kickass preamp with a shit poweramp will still sound shit, and vice versa. .

totally... i can't stress the importance of the poweramp enough.... i kinda like super high wattage s.s. poweramps because they're sooo clean.... but i also like alot of tube poweramps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Def
theres different types of preamps, SS, semi-digital (with a tube in it to colour the distortion) and full tube. I like full tube the best because of their true tube tone, but some people prefer semi-digital ones because they're more versatile in most cases. (more setup options)


with the different types, i think this needs revising.
s.s.
you have digital s.s. ala line 6...
or analog s.s., like tech 21
tube,
you have "valve"/"hybrid" which is either a digital or analog s.s. signal using tube(s) for more warmth, color, and gain.

or... you have true tube... which is just an all tube signal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Def
And then there's midi preamps, but I won't get into that because that's prolly not something that you'de need to know, midi is for top knotch gear like the new engl e580 preamp. that'll set you back a lot of money though.

alot of preamps have midi... the mp-1 has midi... and it's cheap as fuck(though top notch imo).
so does the jmp-1. and h&k access....

the e580 and e570 are just to kick ass to not have midi, because if they didn't have midi people would shit there pants over how you could make such an amazing preamp and not give it a feature like midi.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Def
Ofcourse you can expand your rack with a lot of crap, like stage tuners (Korg DTR), sound shapers, fx units, eq's, you name it. you can get as crazy as you want. But if you want to start a rack, start out with a good pre and poweramp and build up from there if you feel the need for more options.

totally
__________________
Friends don't let friends play Krank!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 2004-11-05, 02:54
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Innards-Decay
yeah, hey def, if i paid you to buy a savage or something for me and ship it to me, would you?

Nah, because you never know what might happen with shipping and you won't have ebay buyer protection then.. And ofcourse a european amp won't work in the US, you'de have to get it changed to a different voltage and shit. (my poweramp had a switch for that, I don't know how my Engl top works, but it probably needs something changed)

as for preamps with midi, IMO only preamps with a lot of options have midi, right? like the mp1 3tm, jmp-1, acces, triaxis, etc. a simple analog preamp usually doesn't have it, though the high end analogs do have them from time to time. the ADA mp1 is allready considered top knotch here because you pay a lot for them over here. the 3tm was the only one I ever saw in real life even. its more of a shred preamp.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 2004-11-05, 10:16
xdislexicx xdislexicx is offline
TEH PWNZOR!!!1qa
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The West.
Posts: 4,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Def
as for preamps with midi, IMO only preamps with a lot of options have midi, right? like the mp1 3tm, jmp-1, acces, triaxis, etc. a simple analog preamp usually doesn't have it, though the high end analogs do have them from time to time.

not really.. hell, your engl 620 preamp has midi right? it's only two channels with a shared eq. one of the cheapest they make/made and it's pretty old too huh?

my old bogner/hafler triple giant had midi... it was a three channel analog tube preamp.

some mesa preamps like the vtwin rack i had can have mods to have midi mapping installed on the back... though mine didn't have that feature and i didn't wanna pay for it a the time(i was still a pedal guy).

it's not all preamps with savable presets, though almost all of the preamps with presets have midi, it'd be retarded not to.

with some amps/preamps it's just a feature for channel switching...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Def
the ADA mp1 is allready considered top knotch here because you pay a lot for them over here. the 3tm was the only one I ever saw in real life even. its more of a shred preamp.

they're cheap as fuck around here... modded or not... it's a very high preamp, excellent for shred and metal imo.
__________________
Friends don't let friends play Krank!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 2004-11-05, 10:27
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
My 620 didn't have midi, the higher version of it had, it did have the ports on the back so I think it could be modded for it?

most simpler preamps don't have midi, like those simple marshalls from back in the day, soldano's, rivera's, you name it. Most boutique preamps don't even have it, though if you look at the top end models, they often do have it...

I've played the mp1 3tm, I didn't like it much, but if you're into shred its neat, for metal, meh. not enough of an agressive punching tone. But ofcourse I'm spoiled at that aspect..
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 2004-11-05, 16:07
Innards-Decay's Avatar
Innards-Decay Innards-Decay is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,665
Send a message via AIM to Innards-Decay
oh shit, i forgot you have different plugs. Damn, well i guess the prices there arent that good. 1.666 euro is like 2000 american.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transient
Faceshitting...
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 2004-11-05, 17:10
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
ahem... keep in mind that's a Savage special edition your talking about and thats a shop selling it, it's new.

a normal savage 120 would go for that in the US man.

prices here are way lower, I might be buying a powerball this weekend for 1000 bucks with flightcase and engl footswitch.

you guys can't even get a new fireball for that
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 2004-11-05, 17:11
Def's Avatar
Def Def is offline
Master Killer
Alumni Staff
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 11,372
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 2004-11-05, 17:22
Innards-Decay's Avatar
Innards-Decay Innards-Decay is offline
Post-whore
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,665
Send a message via AIM to Innards-Decay
yeah, but isnt mesa stuff over there really expensive?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transient
Faceshitting...
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 2004-11-05, 17:49
BLS's Avatar
BLS BLS is offline
STUFFED ANIMAL ORGY
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8,705
Send a message via ICQ to BLS Send a message via AIM to BLS Send a message via Yahoo to BLS
Yes.. but who wants a Mesa when they have Bogner's, Engl's, H&K, Deizel.. ect
__________________
"Believe the word
I will unlock my door
And pass the cemetery gates"

"Dimebag" Darrell Lance Abbott
08/20/66 - 12/08/04

R.I.P.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 2004-11-05, 18:16
guitar_demon's Avatar
guitar_demon guitar_demon is offline
MotörCat
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: &#26132&#26132
Posts: 7,547
Send a message via AIM to guitar_demon Send a message via MSN to guitar_demon
how does a rack differ from just a head anyway?
can i run an eq through my head? or do i need a rack for that? if i can what would be a good one also how drastically will it change to the tone of the head?
__________________
POW MIA NEVER FORGOTTEN
no one can tell you to turn down your amp unless they're of higher skill or in your band
Why not make shit up as we go-fox
Ok. You're literate, intelligent and funny-FBS

"Calm down, Edgar back in your cage"-far beyond sane
"you suck the cat-avatar-guy doesnt"-The Doc
Now My Legacy Shall Live Forever!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.