MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

Old 2004-08-10, 11:59
BrokenCrimson
Post-whore

Teachers

Do you have a teacher, or are you self taught, and what is your opinion on teachers in general, and if you have a teacher, does your teacher kick ass?

My teacher grew up on punk, so for ages he played punk, but now he's playing jazz mostly. He's been playing for over 20 years already but he's not "old".I'd say he's in his early thirties. I get a half and hour lesson each week. His advice never failed me.Of course, I would be a little happier if my teacher had more of a background in metal, but he's teaching me stuff that applies to most genres that require roughness and power, so it's all good.

I used to have a terrible violin teacher. She had terrible technique and made my violin screech when she played it, but she was qualified and shit. She did teach me a good bit on piano, but it wasn't good enough. I quit violin partially because of her.

I'm against being self taught if you can afford a teacher. A lot of errors people make in drum technique can significantly deplete your sound (DUH, I'm sorry I'm stating the obvious) and someone more experienced can really help., unless the teacher is some spotty guy who's self taught himself for 5 years and can only play a basic rock beat.

Yay.

Old 2004-08-11, 06:43
NZ black metal drumm
Post-whore

well I am officially drum teacher now!!

(a chick I now has insisted on paying my $10 an hour for drum lessons)

I was aught for about 2-3 years and have been self taught for about the same period of time, I wuold like to get a jazz teacher, but I just haven't got round to it, and I don't have the money.