MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Guitar Zone
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 2004-08-15, 13:17
northerndragon northerndragon is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The dark mountains of the north
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to northerndragon
Another Floyd Rose Question

Recently i stopped using my B.C Rich, because it has bad pickups(EMG-Hz's) and the floyd rose locking system was set to standard tuning. Now my band tunes a whole step down, and im geting the pick ups changed soon. How can I make it so the floyd rose is set up properly so that I can tune it a whole step down. And if I get the pickups changed do I have to take all the strings off? Please be as detailed as possible. thank you.
__________________

nørthern dragon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2004-08-15, 14:50
guitar_demon's Avatar
guitar_demon guitar_demon is offline
MotörCat
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: &#26132&#26132
Posts: 7,547
Send a message via AIM to guitar_demon Send a message via MSN to guitar_demon
yea you have to take the strings off to change the pickups

def or darko would probably know this for sure but, as far as i know you dont have to do anything to the bridge to downtune all you should have to do it downtune the strings
__________________
POW MIA NEVER FORGOTTEN
no one can tell you to turn down your amp unless they're of higher skill or in your band
Why not make shit up as we go-fox
Ok. You're literate, intelligent and funny-FBS

"Calm down, Edgar back in your cage"-far beyond sane
"you suck the cat-avatar-guy doesnt"-The Doc
Now My Legacy Shall Live Forever!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2004-08-15, 15:19
northerndragon northerndragon is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The dark mountains of the north
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to northerndragon
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitar_demon
yea you have to take the strings off to change the pickups

def or darko would probably know this for sure but, as far as i know you dont have to do anything to the bridge to downtune all you should have to do it downtune the strings


well what I meant is that i have coils(springs) in the back of the guitar, when the tech guy got ahold of it he put an extra one in, and said it was missing one. I have three in there now. But I know those coils have to do with tuning and such
__________________

nørthern dragon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2004-08-15, 15:55
Deathmaster213 Deathmaster213 is offline
Supreme Metalhead
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 727
The trem base plate should be level with the body of the guitar.

Dropping the tuning one step will make the trem tilt back, because there won't be as much tension on the springs.

You may have to change your string gauge (depending on what you use in standard tuning) to get the same string tension at a lower tuning. (you'll need a heavier gauge)

You will probably have to screw in the spring claw a little too, or let it out, basically it's trial and error until it's in tune, and the trem is level, with a string tension you like.

Seeing as you weren't aware of these things, maybe your tech would do a better job, but there's nothing like practise if you want to learn yourself!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2004-08-15, 16:28
BLS's Avatar
BLS BLS is offline
STUFFED ANIMAL ORGY
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8,705
Send a message via ICQ to BLS Send a message via AIM to BLS Send a message via Yahoo to BLS
wrong forum, look in gear talk.
__________________
"Believe the word
I will unlock my door
And pass the cemetery gates"

"Dimebag" Darrell Lance Abbott
08/20/66 - 12/08/04

R.I.P.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2004-08-15, 16:46
mctriple mctriple is offline
Senior Metalhead
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Phil Campbell, AL
Posts: 493
Send a message via AIM to mctriple
you MUST adjust the springs in the trem cavity in the back to downtune without it affecting your action and trem return accuracy.

it'll probably take 1/2 or 1 full turn. do it in 1/2s. unscrew them 1/2 of a rotation, tune the strings, check if it's level. if it's still not level, unscrew them another 1/2 of a turn, retune, see if it's level. keep doing that. it may need a smaller adjustment like 1/4 of a turn when you start getting closer. you'll see how close you get when you retune and check the bridge angle.

lots of tutorials on the net.. search for "floyd rose setup"..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.