MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum FAQ Contact Us Link to Us

Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > Musicians > Drums Zone

Old 2004-07-03, 08:42
BrokenCrimson
Post-whore

What do you do about saving your hearing?

I'm a drummer newbie and I just got my first kit today(WHOPEE YAY! ^_^ ^_^ ^_^). I practiced for 3 hours and now I'm close to vomiting now because it's so fucking LOUD! I didn't wear earplugs. I practiced on school kits before that and my teacher's kit and I never had this problem.

I spoke to a New Zealander on thursday who played drums for 4-5 years. He told me to get earmuffs because he's nearly deaf now.

My drum teacher lost a lot of his hearing, but now he uses custom made earplugs (they reduce 25 decibels(sp?)) and he wears earmuffs that remove just as much sound.

So, I'm wondering... About how careful are you with your hearing? I want to hear some gory warning stories too.

Old 2004-07-03, 08:57
BeastOfCarrion
Pokémon Master

im not a drummer, so i dont have that issuesince guitars and amps come with volume knobs, but when i wnet to see slayer 3 years ago, it was one of the first gigs i ever went to, it was FUCKING loud, and i didnt have any kind of ear protection, concequently i couldnt hear properly for a week
i ve been to gigs without earplugs since and they werent as bad
these days i always have earplugs for concerts, maybe im just paranoid, but i think my ears are already going, as when its dead silent i get ringing in my ears (and im only 19 )
(x.x) (> <)
Somebody has decapitated an innocent rabbit, can Abbath solve this crime before more innocent bunnies are hurt?

Old 2004-07-03, 09:23
NZ black metal drumm
Post-whore