MetalTabs.com - your source for Metal tabs
Home Forum What's New Submit a Tab FAQ Links Contact Us Link to Us


Go Back   MetalTabs.com Forum > MetalTabs.com > Feedback
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 2004-04-07, 14:50
atifman atifman is offline
Forum Leader
Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: .
Posts: 2,934
2 probs with uploading attachments

1. How come we can't upload mp3s? can you make that an acceptable file type to upload?

2. How come we can't upload up to 1 MB now? Now it's only 100 K, that sucks ass. It used to 1 MB, did that limit change with the new software change?
Can you make it so it's up to 1 MB, or at least 500 k?
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2004-04-08, 02:52
nomad's Avatar
nomad nomad is offline
round the world
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 979
The database size is already 400+ Mb and 80% of that are attachments. I would really appreciate if instead of attaching your lengthy files you put them to a 3rd party server (like yahoo) and provide links to them. This would make database maintenance and backup so much easier (and cheaper).

Mp3's are not not allowed because first they are hardly ever less in size than 100Kb, and second, there're legal issues I don't want to deal with.
__________________
I ride too fast to worry about cholesterol...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2004-04-13, 01:25
BozoNightmare's Avatar
BozoNightmare BozoNightmare is offline
Metalhead
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to BozoNightmare
That 100K limit really sucks; I went to record a 10 second mp3 sample of a distortion I made, and trying to encode it to fit under 100KB destroyed the sound, defeating the purpose of it.

400MB don't seem too big for a databse, but the convenience for many people is being sacrificed for the site maintainer's convenience (no offense, I'd probably do the same). If you don't keep up with the ever-growing standards of computer memory space, then yeah, people will start to get annoyed.

It might be a bit of work, but you'd probably need some clean up program or limit to how much each person can attach. Maybe each person can have a manageable attachment account, just like an inbox with its size limit, so if its full, they must delete old attachments or something, I dunno...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2004-04-13, 03:21
nomad's Avatar
nomad nomad is offline
round the world
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by BozoNightmare
Maybe each person can have a manageable attachment account, just like an inbox with its size limit, so if its full, they must delete old attachments or something, I dunno...

Good idea!

I'm setting max attachment size to 500 KB for zip's and the attachments limit per user to 2 MB.
__________________
I ride too fast to worry about cholesterol...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2004-04-14, 21:34
BozoNightmare's Avatar
BozoNightmare BozoNightmare is offline
Metalhead
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 82
Send a message via MSN to BozoNightmare
That's better. Thanx. By the way, did vBulletin have that as a feature already?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2004-04-15, 02:50
nomad's Avatar
nomad nomad is offline
round the world
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by BozoNightmare
That's better. Thanx. By the way, did vBulletin have that as a feature already?

Yes.
__________________
I ride too fast to worry about cholesterol...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2004-04-15, 08:15
Transient's Avatar
Transient Transient is offline
HES BAAACK
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: slaying all the giants
Posts: 9,967
I think this guy is the coolest website owner i've ever talked to. He changes things around just by request
__________________
www.myspace.com/crownedmusic
http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j136/transient_shirts/Banner.gif
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2004-07-20, 06:40
BeastOfCarrion's Avatar
BeastOfCarrion BeastOfCarrion is offline
Pokémon Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Some grim and utterly pointless evil location(Aus)
Posts: 3,740
can you make it so that there is some kind of list of files already uploaded, so if we want to attach something to 2 threads, it can be done without re-uploading or just pasting a link?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2004-07-20, 13:42
atifman atifman is offline
Forum Leader
Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: .
Posts: 2,934
we already have one, look in user cp, last option in the menu
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2004-07-20, 16:59
BLS's Avatar
BLS BLS is offline
STUFFED ANIMAL ORGY
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8,705
Send a message via ICQ to BLS Send a message via AIM to BLS Send a message via Yahoo to BLS
http://metaltabs.com/forum/profile....editattachments

foo

dunno if thats profile specifi or not so it might not work.

goto usercp then at the very bottom theirs an attachments link.
__________________
"Believe the word
I will unlock my door
And pass the cemetery gates"

"Dimebag" Darrell Lance Abbott
08/20/66 - 12/08/04

R.I.P.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 2004-07-21, 01:02
BeastOfCarrion's Avatar
BeastOfCarrion BeastOfCarrion is offline
Pokémon Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Some grim and utterly pointless evil location(Aus)
Posts: 3,740
that has the attachments that i have put there, what i mean is when you attach the thing if there is a little menu in there to select files alreay attached, in the manage attachments bit when writing a message
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:05.


========

Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
Copyright © 2001-2009 MetalTabs.com. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.