View Single Post
Old 2006-12-24, 12:34
JonR JonR is offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 67
Jazz conventions:

Whole-half diminished = 1-2-b3-4-b5-#5-6-7. Use on dim7 chords.
E.g. Bdim7 = B-D-F-Ab. Scale = B-C#-D-E-F-G-Ab-A#

Half-whole diminished = 1-2b-b3-3-#4-5-6-b7. Use on 7b9 chords.
E.g. G7b9 = G-B-D-F-Ab. Scale = G-Ab-A#-B-C#-D-E-F.

Notice these 2 scales are the same. Bdim7 is the top 4 notes of G7b9, and is a common sub for G7, esp in key of C minor.

There are only THREE diminished scales; but each of them has EIGHT names: 4 whole-half and 4 half-whole, depending on which note you start from.
Likewise, there are only 3 dim7 chords, each with 4 possible names (not counting enharmonic equivalents), depending on which note you call the root.
B-D-F-Ab = Bdim7 = Ddim7 = Fdim7 = Abdim7 (=G#dim7)

Wholetone = 1-2-3-#4-#5-b7. Use on 7#5, 7b5, 9#5, 9b5 chords.
E.g. G7#5 = G-B-D#-F. Scale = G-A-B-C#-D#-F
(Example: Intro to "You are the sunshine of my life" Stevie Wonder)

There are only TWO wholetone scales. The other one is C-D-E-F#-G#-Bb.
Reply With Quote