MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Gear & Recording (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   The Official Bridge Thread (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9629)

Party Time 2000 2004-02-20 14:49

The Official Bridge Thread

Well, I'm not too experienced with bridges but I would
like to become more familiar with them.

I just got a 1984 BC Rich Stealth and it has a Kahler
floating bridge and a locking nut. It looks complicated
compared to other bridges I've seen out there.

I would like to know about all bridges used on electric
guitars and what their advantages/disadvantages
(technical, maintenance, etc) and what your opinions
are of them.

I appreciate your help metal heads.

Def 2004-02-20 16:14

Kahler bridges are all pretty damn good, a bit more sturdy then OFR's (original floyd roses)

I have an old Edge trem in my '89 rg750, great trem, really doesnt go out of tune, much better then ibanez trems these days and especially better then all of the immitation licenced china crap. this trem holds its tune 10x better then the licenced floyd I had in a Dinky.

advantages : kickass dimebag sounds, full trem, super sturdy, stays in tune for ages (well, mine does)

disadvantages : string changing is a bitch!! (TIP: cut the ball end of the string so you only have to cut it ONCE!) using different gauges will result in a messed up trem, you'll need to sort it out again with the springs and shit (pain in the ass)

stuck.

Immortal Extinction 2004-02-20 16:18