MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Bass Zone (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   5 strings (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7712)

Fear-Of-Magnets 2003-09-01 07:10

5 strings

I'm a guitarist mainly bit of a drummer and I thought to myself the other day i know ill try my hand at bass. So i went out and got myself a nice 5string Ibanez black and shiny for 230 But was 5stings worth it? from what ive seen most use 4 strings so im a little confused about tis extra string i have. Im sure it'l come in use when i get good but until then i dont know what to do with it.

daggerfall 2003-09-01 08:19

I use 4 string, and I don't feel I need 5 string. My hands are not to bigg...

In my ignorance I think 5 string basses is often used as the 7 string guitars in nu-metal... They give a heavyer sound.
I talked to a guy who plays 6 stringhe said 4 string was for commies :rolleyes: Well I'm a commuist so it fits:p

Go to the store and try both, and buy what you like best.

Def 2003-09-01 11:07

I use both 4 and 5 strings, I find it easier to play on 4 strings because the neck is a bit thinner and faster.

the 5 strings are neat too, you can play them 'lazy' style, because you don't need to go down the frets for lower tones. plus you'll have a lot more low end, which is good.

and not only for gay nu-metal, a whole shitload of bands play with 5 strings.

just don't drop A tune it and slap like a moron, and you'll be fine.

Tattered 2003-09-05 14:57

Yeh, 5 strings r cool, but i dont tend too use mine much, i stick to 4 string and gig with my vintage 4 string, mainly, but there cool things, and have a nice low B which has an amazing growl.

Bassman 2003-09-24 22:10

there's nothing wrong with five strings, they give you that extra low-end. i play 4-strings though.;)

Rattlehead 2003-10-06 10:21