MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Gear & Recording (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   differnce in emgs (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5100)

Piper5150 2003-02-22 11:32

differnce in emgs

whats the differance in emg pickups and emg-hz?
i kno like the different kinds like 81 and 85's but whats the differnce in the hz and the kind in zacks or just any emg active pickups thnx

MechanicalRaper 2003-02-22 12:32

HZ's don't require a battery, and I would guess, therefore aren't as powerful as "real" EMGs. While I have no real experience with either, it's an accepted fact that "real" EMGs are higher quality and sound better.

andras 2003-02-23 02:04

well, to my ears, the main difference is the HZs sound muddy compared to an 81. also, theyre passive, so the output would be less crushing. or something like that...

:drunk:

Def 2003-02-23 05:18

Quote:
Originally posted by MechanicalRaper
HZ's don't require a battery, and I would guess, therefore aren't as powerful as "real" EMGs. While I have no real experience with either, it's an accepted fact that "real" EMGs are higher quality and sound better.

yup, the difference is that the 81 is active and the hz's are not, they are also a lot cheaper... go figure. if you can, go for the active one's.

ilovebukkake 2003-03-02 17:35

from what i've seen, the HZ's are the EMG's that Jackson and BC Rich put in their guitars because they are tight fisted bastards. I dont see why they can't put the real deal EMG's in like Ran Guitars et al.

MeTalManiac555 2003-03-10 17:40

Ok so if I wan't to put some humbuckers which are the two like two pickups together arent they, well if I wan't to get some EMG's then which are the best one's for metal and all?

joblo1978 2003-03-12 11:22