MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Zone (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Kahler questions (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=38320)

Arsis 2007-09-04 22:54

Kahler questions
 
Greets, I have a Kahler bridge on my carvin



and the part on the bridge were the string attaches on the high E is broken and i have to wrap the tring around the fine tuner shaft. This cuts out the the ring of the E string while preforming a a half band or higher on the 15-23 frets or so and this carvin is rather special to me so i want to fix it up. By fix it up i mean put a new bridge and fix the dead frets.


Is'nt there many kinds of kahler? i thought i needed a certain kind
heres a pic of the carvin.

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/...jqx5kppmwj6.jpg

and
http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/...dssbpopmox3.jpg

I'll try to get close up as soon as possible.

any info about this is apreciated. Are kahlers moderatley good for harmonic dives and pulling up? (basicly dime bag stuff)

Musician1978 2007-09-05 06:51

I don't have much help, but wanted to say that it is a beautiful axe!!

Arsis 2007-09-05 06:58

thanx :)

Mortal_Lament 2007-09-05 15:10

kahlers are awesome for dives and pulling up man,
Kerry king uses one, and his squeals are outrageous.
I also use one on my hamer, i use the 2300, and it needed a bit of routing like all floating bridges. Just take it in and try to get the bridge fixed, not a new bridge, thats another 300$ that isn't worth spending.

I don't quite know the question, but, i'd personally take kahler bridge systems over floyd rose any day.

Arsis 2007-09-05 15:55

I do'nt think it would be fixed that easy. i had a guy fix teh dead frets but they came back damn it.

BOB_ZE_METALLEU 2007-09-05 18:00

a broken Carvin...never heard that often. But yeah fix that khaler, you wont regret it!

MetalThrashingMad 2007-09-05 18:35

Nice fucking guitar! I'm diggin that!

Arsis 2007-09-05 22:16

Thanx, i've gotten so much love for that guitar on this site :) makes me feel good.
I actually got it for only 400 bucks :) at a pawn shop it was 700 then went down to 500 then they had 25% sale so it went to 400 :) but the pickups arent the best the rest is groovy.

my question about this thread is isnt there a bunch opf different kinds of kahlers? or will they all fit on my guitar? what kinds will?

Casketcrusher 2007-09-11 12:43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsis
Thanx, i've gotten so much love for that guitar on this site :) makes me feel good.
I actually got it for only 400 bucks :) at a pawn shop it was 700 then went down to 500 then they had 25% sale so it went to 400 :) but the pickups arent the best the rest is groovy.

my question about this thread is isnt there a bunch opf different kinds of kahlers? or will they all fit on my guitar? what kinds will?


There are tons of Kahlers.

www.kahlerusa.com

The 2200 series is more for Les Paul style carved tops. The 2300 series for Flat Top guitars like strats. I'd recomend you get the 2315 bridge. It's probably the best one I tried and Slayer and Judas Priest use it.

philkilla 2007-09-11 14:40

PM soulinsane.

Looks like the roller is gone...you can just order parts for it now.

Soulinsane 2007-09-11 17:08

Are you saying the string hook in the bridge is broke? They are an easy fix as long as you follow the instructions. The Kahler site has a ton of answers and Ebay has a ton of parts.

Nice guitar btw :beer:

Arsis 2007-09-15 01:21

thnx soul. Will any flatmound kahler fit on it? and yes were the string hoks to the bridge is broken off i have to "tie" it to the fine tuner, it cuts out on som bends from it. the hook is actually takin all the way off. It was liek that when i bought it.

Soulinsane 2007-09-15 14:23

Most Kahler flat mount bridge parts are interchangeable and the string hooks are no different. The string hooks are all the same no matter the model and will be an easy replacement.

Arsis 2007-09-16 14:34

thank you, but how would i put it on? The only thing i can come up with is glue wich i dont like.

Soulinsane 2007-09-16 18:37

No glue, but you will have to do some disassembling to install a new string hook. It sounds harder than what it really is.

Remove the strings and kahler bridge from the guitar ( four wood screws ).

On the bottom of the bridge there will be three screws that remove the string block assembly. Remove those screws.

You will notice that the string block simple holds the string hooks between itself and the cam. Once the string block is removed the sting hooks can be removed or replaced very easy.

Replace the string hook and reattach the string block assembly to the cam. The screws should only be hand tight. Don't over torque or you will strip the screws.

Once reassembled. Reattach the bridge to the guitar and sting it up. The setup will not have changed :beer:

Arsis 2007-09-16 20:40

I think i get what you are saying, thanks alot. Does kahlers website sell the hook? also do all flatmounds use generally the same tremolo arm.

Soulinsane 2007-09-17 02:51

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsis
I think i get what you are saying, thanks alot. Does kahlers website sell the hook? also do all flatmounds use generally the same tremolo arm.


Like I said, it sounds more complicated than what it is, but the bridge will have to be removed from the guitar. String hooks are pretty easy to replace though. The Kaher site does sell string hooks for $9, but you could also get a parts Kahler on Ebay for cheap.

You bridge will work with any 23xx tremolo arm.

Casketcrusher 2007-09-17 18:59

Just out of curiosity. When changing to a heavier spring set is it needed when you tune down. Like to C for example. Or since there is lack of tension on the strings do I not have to worry about changing springs. Cause I was speaking to a guitar tech today and I ask if I could tune my Hondo down to C standard and soon as he found out it had a Kahler he was like "Naw man. Well you could but it would take like a REALLY long time. I would have to take apart your whole bridge if you wanna tune that low" This got my worried

Arsis 2007-09-18 06:18

Thanx alot soulisane 1 more Q. Can you raise the action on a kahler? Becouse i have dead frets. Problably the truss rod tho.


I tune mine to Drop C no prob necer tried C standard though.

Soulinsane 2007-09-18 16:35

There is a small hex bolt behind each roller saddle that adjust string height individually. String height might help but making sure your truss rod is within spec and having level frets also helps prevent dead frets. Best of luck to you. I enjoy helping others when I can. I've used Kahlers for like 15 years so I know my way around them and how to repair them.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:17.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.