MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Music Theory (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Scales,Arpeggios and Modes Question? (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36439)

God-Free 2007-03-19 12:32

Scales,Arpeggios and Modes Question?

The C Harmonic Minor scale is the only scale i currently know since ive been playing for roughly 6 months. I have a complete lack of knowledge of theory so sorry in advance for insulting anyone (im learning). What Arpeggios and Modes can be played with this scale and what other Chords can be found in this scale?

tmfreak 2007-03-19 16:55

Quote:
Originally Posted by God-Free
The C Harmonic Minor scale is the only scale i currently know since ive been playing for roughly 6 months. I have a complete lack of knowledge of theory so sorry in advance for insulting anyone (im learning). What Arpeggios and Modes can be played with this scale and what other Chords can be found in this scale?

I think you need to startt wih the bottom up. You're already going in the very wrong direction with learning theory, in my opinion. If you had been playing for awhile i would say something else but since you just started.

You need to learn how to walk before you run. Learn the C Major scale, the C minor scale, learn the basic chords of guitar, learn what a mode is since you say you don't know scales and modes are ACTUALLY scales.

robbcorpse 2007-03-19 19:03

Well ya can't blame him for wanting to learn a really fun scale :)

But yea take a step back and start with the basics. Understand the Major scale, how it's constructed, how you can build chords out of it. A good understanding of the major scale can take you very very far since it's quite common to derive other scales from the major scale. Pickup some basic chords and chord progressions and think about how they are related.

Then you can branch out a bit, ya know?