MetalTabs.com Forum

MetalTabs.com Forum (http://metaltabs.com/forum/index.php)
-   Bass Zone (http://metaltabs.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   String Gauges (http://metaltabs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=34486)

blitz906 2006-12-14 07:12

String Gauges

So...yeah, just wondering what kind of string gauges you all use.

epitaph 2006-12-14 08:29

105 - 85 - 65 - 45

I tune to E and C#

Rattlehead 2006-12-14 17:13

I didn't vote, because I'm too embarrassed at what the best applicable answer is: "I don't know, I'm a noob"

I haven't come across a set of strings that I'm satisfied with, to tell the truth, let alone a string gauge I prefer. Actually, I can hardly tell the difference between string gauges in terms of feel, or is the only difference in sound?
I've recently switched from Light Gauge Elixirs to Heavy Gauge Ernie Ball Super Slinkys, and after about a month of playing the Ernie Balls I can't tell the difference anymore, they completely dead sounding already. To me heavy gauge seems better for slap, but doesn't really make a difference otherwise. Then again maybe its just because Ernie Ball is good for slap, I don't know really.

Does string gauge really matter?

Valtiel 2006-12-14 20:11

String gauge matters quite a bit, although I would say more so for guitarists than bass players. Heavier string gauge tends to equal a fatter tone and the string tension is higher, making them a little harder to play. A lighter gauge will tend to sound brighter with less bottom end and feel less taught than a heavy gauge set.

Requiem 2006-12-14 20:27

Medium

Rattlehead 2006-12-15 16:50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valtiel
String gauge matters quite a bit, although I would say more so for guitarists than bass players. Heavier string gauge tends to equal a fatter tone and the string tension is higher, making them a little harder to play. A lighter gauge will tend to sound brighter with less bottom end and feel less taught than a heavy gauge set.